It's only half past the point of no return...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 7th 2012
Published: December 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well, what's done is done:

Job, check.

Visa, check.

Plane ticket, check.

At this point, I have to go or I pay Disney a LOT of money to not go... I'm thinkin' I'm going! 😊



You know, I have to say (and I apologize if this embarrasses anyone)... it never fails to amaze me, the power of leaving. Leaving is a miraculous choice that may seem to have an awful lot of drawbacks, but those are significantly balanced out by the remarkable benefits. For one, leaving has given me a number of outstanding opportunities and experiences: jobs, cultures, friendships, food... mm... food. For another, if there's one thing I've learned, it's that people tend to take advantage of your existence until you are leaving. Don't get me wrong, I am equally as guilty of this. But, my family has a new philosophy these days: if you are ever uncertain about accepting an invitation to see someone, ask yourself, "would I go to their funeral?" If the answer is yes, go to this instead. It's really an eye-opening concept. Think of the folks you know whose funeral you would make a point to attend. When was the last time you saw them alive? I mean, seriously. So, what's wonderful for me is that, rather than dying, I just... leave. And I write about it. And I reach out to all of you to tell you about it. I thought for a moment of how embarrassing it would be for travelblog to drop an email in the boxes of those of you whom I haven't spoken to in years...But, then I asked myself that question and realized that, rather than getting an invitation to attend my funeral, y'all are just along for the ride, instead. So I said what the heck... let 'em get the email. I like that better. I am ridiculously happy to be back in touch with all of you! Some of you have made a point to respond or reach out individually and that is hands down the absolute best part of this adventure. That piece makes me so, so glad to have dropped that email in there 😊 I may be busy and China may seem far away... but, I've learned, I always have time for a friend.



As always, thanks for reading! The countdown's almost up... this thing is about to get crazy.

(...with a nod a P!nk for contributing her fabulous lyrics to my title... She and I should be friends. I definitely think I have time for her friendship. Definitely.)

Advertisement



7th December 2012

:)
Keep those notes-a-comin..............my love's always with you, you little monkey.......China....my mother was girl scout leader once when i was a kid......She once taught us a song, "China town, my China town where the lights are low..." That's all I remember......just a line for your next cocktail party...."My grandma used to sing...Chinatown.........." (take another swig).......:) me

Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb