Made It!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Changning
December 13th 2012
Published: December 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ho-ly CRAP that's a long flight! But I'm on solid ground, and writing this (thankfully) from my own private bedroom where I'll be staying for the next 3 weeks.

That flight, direct from Chicago to Shanghai, was 14 hours long. At around hour 3, I was feeling pretty all right because that's about when they announced that we'd be fed all the lid-long day. 2 lunches and 2 snacks, and I do love me some airplane food so that was a plus. Around hour 7, I hated life a little bit and fell asleep realizing that I was only half way through it. But, the second half actually flew by, betwee 3 movies, a little gaming and a serious nap.

The hotel that Disney has us in reminds me a lot of the freshman dorms at my alma mater. Tile floors, rubber-like bedding, and stark-white walls. The shower stall is even a little like those in Stetson... minus like 15 other stalls. But I'm ok with that. There's actually something almost comforting about it. I know how to handle housing like this, and I know that housing like this means I'll get out around town a little bit.



There's a recent college grad in the room next door who will be heading with me to Hangzhou in January (PS - it does NOT feel like December here... I would buy April, but not December). This is her first-ever international experience, so she's going through those motions right now. This was exactly what my jet-lag needed as it allowed my mama-bird instincts to take over, framing a trip down the street to get food as something that SHE needs in order to have a successful night 😉



Anyway, I'm a little out of it right now and keep finding myself staring at my water bottle and/or re-reading the nonsensical sentences that I'm writing several times... so I'm going to leave you with that for now. It's enough to let you know that I'm here, I'm safe, I'm comfortable, and I am freaking aweeessommmmeee 😊



I'll talk to you when I've slept.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb