RIHLA #27


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 26th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I am still not 100% sure where I want to go to school this fall, but my first choice is Loyola University. Some of the student organizations they offer that I would be interested in joinging are under the category of Political/Social Issues. There are several to choose from but the ones that really stood out to me were Invisible conflicts, Autism Speaks, and Model United Nations.

The student-led organization Invisible conflicts is mainly allowing victims, of the conflicts that are occurring worldwide, to tell their stories.The students at Loyola then find practical ways to help others & transform communities both at home and in conflict regions. They can really help make a difference in the world and I would love to be a part of that; I also love helping people.

Autism Speaks U LUC seeks to further the mission of Autism Speaks by engaging the campus and local communities through awareeness, fundraising, and support. I would love to fight for awareness and helping fundraise for the people effected by it. I want to do meaningful things in life, and I believe that being involved with others and my community can help make that difference.

Model U.N. is open for any student interested in learning about the United Nations and in participating on UN conferences. And every Fall term, the club prepares for on eof the most prestigious national simulations, the Chicago-based American Model U.N. conference. Students from Loyola have represented many countries worldwide, and simulations focus on specific topics from the international realm: security, economics, law, human rights, the environment, health, etc. I am interested in joining this because I would like to learn more about it and I'm interested in being involved with international and everyday issues.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb