RIHLA #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part One:Interview-

1.) Name of Interviewee: Magdalena Quijano

2.)Relationship to Interviewee: Mother

3.)Decade of Choice: 1980-90

4.)Describe the environment in which you lived in for that time period: At times, being outside was unsafe and where I lived, there were a lot of gangs nearby so I had to be careful whenever I was able to go out. We were very close with our neighbors and defintely had more time and money to go out places. My mom was very uptight though, so I couldn't go out much with my boyfriend or my friends because she believed the world was too dangerous.

5.)What major activities did you participate in?

I volunteered at the office in the mornings during high school. I worked at Jewel a little after graduating. I then moved with my new husband and began raising my little boy.

6.)What were the major social issues of that decade?

There was a lot going on during the 80s; there were a lot of economic, political, and technology-based advancements as well as space exploration and new&improved automobiles. As for social issues...the 80s was the beginning of the AIDS pandemic and there were a lot of protests because people wanted government to take action against AIDS.Women were also working a lot more than usual(compared to before). There was also more acception of Gay rights in the western side of the world, I believe.

7.)What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade?Why?

I think the biggest turning point of that decade was when i had my first son. I gave birth to him about a month after graduation and it changed my life a lot because I moved out of my mom's house, got married, lived with him under his parents' roof, and had to manage a child, new home, and a new job.

Part Two (My Reflection):

1.)In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person's actions? If so, explain.

I don't really think that this person's environment influenced her actions; there were just major life changes based on her own emotions.

2.)Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions?

I believe that my environment over these past ten years has influenced my actions a lot because of where I live, where I go to school, and major social, economic, and political factors have influenced people as young as me. Things would be completely different if my neighborhood were infested with gangs, as well as my school and even if I went to my neighborhood high school, things would be different.I think my attitude towards my education, my goals, and what I see for my future would be different if I didn't attend UICCP: but I think I have a more positive outlook on my career, goals, and future because of my high school and peers.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb