RHILA #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 10th 2012
Published: February 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. Name of Interviewee: Hector

2. Relationship to Interviewee:Father

3. Decade of Choice: (The person should choose one decade from their life to refer to) He chose 80's.

4. Describe the environment in which you lived for that decade. There was a lot of gang violence. However, the group of friends that I jung around with were all into sports, dancing, becoming independent (small jobs to help out the family, and going to the lake.

5. What major activities did you participate in?Swimming, Soccer, Softball, Brakedancing, bycicle riding. Involved in creating a United Latino club at University of Minnesotta ( support group to become succesfull)

6. What were the major social issues of that decade? Racism- Latinos were discriminated for speaking spanish. Teachers would not let students speak spanish. At the University town people would stare at me for being different. Older women would look at me and have the look that said "what the heck are you doing here?"

7. What was the biggest turning point for you during that decade? Why? Going to the University and value education. My father once asked me, "Why are you going to school?" I looked at him surprised by his question and meditated my answer. I then answered my father by saying "first I went to school because you forced me to go to school, then as the years passed by my purpose changed,I wanted to provide a better life for my future family, and finally im going to school becuase I like to learning".




Part Two (Your Reflection):

1. In your own words, do you think that location has influenced this person’s actions? If so, explain.

Yes. Growing up he experienced racism where he grew up. In a way, I think it did help him kind of seek his education as well as the absence of his father to pursue everything he wanted.

2. Do you think your location within the last decade of your life has influenced your actions? Explain.

Yes. Most of my location has been UICCP becuase I spent most of my time there. I woulnd't have really thought about going to college. Only one of my cousins has gone, and the rest have graduated from high school but that is about it. So being by people who remind me daily and having the support I have at home really help and have influenced my actions.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb