RIHLA #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 5th 2012
Published: January 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Image 1Image 1Image 1

Dust storm
Image 1

The dust storm, Haboob, went through Phoenix, Arizona. This shows a moment in time when there was a disator happening and for a split second of time it was caught in a frame. You can see what is going to happen and how normal things look. In the back the storm is coming, but in the front it is normal.



Image 2

A man, Jon Tumilson, was a Navy Seal and was killed in Afghanistan. At his funeral his loyal dog named Hawkeye laid next to his coffin. This moment was so sad to me, that the dog realized that his friend and owner was killed. I saw the video and the dog stayeed there the whole time, and was crying. This just shows true loyalty and being there to the end. This made me feel sad for the dog and especially the family.

Image 3

During the winter in Chicago's huge storm last year, cars were abandoned on Lake Shore Drive. The cars are all snowed over and it makes you think about ow dangerouse that was. How if people where still in there, they would probrably be dead. This also
Image 2Image 2Image 2

Hawkeye laying next to Jon Tumilson casket
makes you think about what would happen if the street was just closed off, or another alternative. Also, did the people get thier cars back, or find them?

Image 4

On August 28 in Nags Head, North Carolina, Hurricane Irene destroyed a home that was over a hundred years old. This home was one of the first in built in Nags Head. Plus, in the picture all is left is the stairs, with the father and daughter on them, surrounded by a water. this just shows how powerful a hurricane can be, how it cane wipe away a house so fast. Also, it makes you realize how fast something can be taken from you.



Image 5

A women in China, flug her self out the window in her wedding dress becasue her fiance called out off the wedding. She was depressed and tried to commit suicide, but when she jumped out the windo, a man grabbed her and saved her. This shows how peole try to save others and help them. Also, how people can get things taken away from them quickly. It is just about how you react. For some it is worse
Image 3Image 3Image 3

Cars left on Lake Shore Drive
than others. I wanted to know if she was grateful for being saved or not.



My Image

In 2011 I felt like I was going to sink and I was not going to make it. The whole entire year was very tiring and I just wanted to give up. I didn't though, even if I did sink at times , I made my way back up and help my head out the water. I have come a far and I am almost reaching my goal, which is to graduate. The iceberg is because it is more to it than just the surface. There is a lot underwater and more to it.



Photos in History

Photos are very valuable to historians because it shows an image about what had happened. It shows a clear image of what things look like and even a clear image on how things where going on. Like for clothes it shows how it looked and maybe how things were used. It acts like a clear comparison for things.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Image 4Image 4
Image 4

Cottage, that was built in 1901, is destroyed
Image 5Image 5
Image 5

Women in China tries to kill herself, when fiance calls off wedding abrubtly
My ImageMy Image
My Image

Iceberg


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb