RHILA #14


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

1)Choose 5 images from 2011 and describe the significance of the image as well as your reaction to the image and questions that it makes you ask.


• The first image is #8. It is the comparison of a neighborhood before and after the Tornado on May 22. The first time I saw it, it was a breathtaking image. I was shocked to see how at one moment everything can be great, suddenly having you find yourself having to live trhough a tornado. It made me think of all the natural disasters that occurred during 2011. I asked myself, how will or are therse people able to cope with everything that occurred? what is the next step for them? The image maily made me think about Global Warming and like the things people are actually doing to make the world a better place. Then I ask myself, I complain about people not doing anything to stop global warming, well what am I doing? My answer is nothing.
• The second image was #12. The pictures captures a Muslim community trying to do their daily prayers and a group of Christians protecting them.The first time I saw the picture I thought, what are the Muslims being protected from? I know this is in Egypt where there was some kind of Evil dictator....I think unless I am confusing the country for another one. Are the Christians protecting the Muslims because they were considered the "brothers" of the religion? Also, how did two religions get involved in a problem?
• The third image is #30. A baby is shown. I felt emotional because I could not beleive that a child would ever have to live through those kind of circumstances. A question I had was what full recovery has he made?heart?becuase the doctor is checking his/her heart....hunger? becuase the baby is really skinny and his/her bones can be seen. How or with what was the baby able to make a full recovery? I dont think it's fair that people here, including myself, dont take into consideration everyrthings that we have, while people in other places struggle for survival.
• The fourth image was #35. It shows a woman holding a gun. Her facial expression is scary because I can tell she really wants to kill whatever she is aiming for. I am extremely upset that man kind is always creating wars among each other. Also, that women are starting to be involved by using weapons. If women are being brainwashed them I think it is even more sad becuase they are being used for one purpose and that is to kill.
• The fifth image was #42. It shows service men and women in a gay parade. After watching all of the pictures of disasters this one made me smile. I'm glad service men and women are able to be in the military without having to worry about their sex prefrences. They are human beings like everyone else and should not be treated like anything less. However, they should be treated with great respect because they are representing what they are and they feel comfortable.



2) Include OR Describe an image/photo that would best explain your year personally for 2011. Explain the significance of the image.

My picture would include a clock. Everyday of 2011 was spent pretty much the same day as every other day. 2011 was the most stressfull year I have experienced,yet! every minute I spent was dedicated to school. Everyday was timed. I didnt really "live the moment". I just wanted things to be done, but that's time I wont get back. Everyday was gone quickly just like time is.

3) Explain why images/photos can be a valuable resource for historians who are trying to understand the past.

Images are so valuable because they provide a visaul way for people to see how things were at some point in time. The styles that people enjoyed. The relationships between people. The things people valued. Advancements or invetions created by people. Images can be misteries too because not only do people get to see them they also have to figure out who is in the picture and what meaning or importance does the picture have.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb