RIHLA # 14: Most powerful pictures of 2011


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
January 2nd 2012
Published: January 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

ProtestProtestProtest

A protester gets sprayed in the face with pepper spray at an Occupy Portland protest. (Randy L. Rasmussen/The Oregonian
Most powerful pictures of 2011

1. Protest

This picture can basically represent all the protest that has occures in 2011 throughout the whole world. Many people have been protesting for many reasons: freedom, justice, change, and the list goes on. WOW! I was shocked when I saw how some people were being peppered sprayed for practicing the first amendment. Can't they sue for that? Since the people outnumber the goverment, is it possible to overthrow our goverment? I wonder if the officer with the peper spray are actually againt what the people believe or should they be on the other side?

2. Financial Crisis

To me this picture represents the financial crisis that is happening in America: America is experiencing a recession. To me this picure shows abandonment and people giving up. Stocks crisis, unemployment rates, debt, and taxes everything is just really crazy right now. Is there one solution to fix the economy? Will the economy ever get better? Will American experience another great depression?

3. Tornado strikes Missouri

This picture can represent people losing their home either because weather catastrophe or by the economy. I was in shock seeing what one storm can
Financial CrisisFinancial CrisisFinancial Crisis

A phone hangs off the hook on Wall Street.
do to a home. Overall, it is shocking to know that one event or storm can take a home away from a family. What happens to the family that loses their home? Where do they go Does the goverment help them? Will they ever get their home back or any home? Will they become homeless?

4. Chicago's blizzard

I can gladly say I witnessed this storm in Chicago. No school, being stuck at home all day watching movies and eating popcorn, and having no homework!! More storms like this should occur more often. In reality, this picture represents all the horrible storms and conditions that have occured in the world. Tsunamis in Japan, earthquakes in D.C, Hurricanes, floods, storms, what is the world coming to? Are we experienceing the worst of global warming? Can we blame mankind for what is happening? Will it get better? Will it get worse?

5. Egypt

This picture sood out to me the most. WOW a picture that shows Christians helping out Muslims. Weren't they both fighting for the holy land?. This is just something very special. I'm shocked! Are they still fighting? Can other groups of people that are fighting
Tornado strikes MissouriTornado strikes MissouriTornado strikes Missouri

A before and after shot of Joplin, Missouri after a massive tornado on May 22.
come together in peace and help one another? Is world peace possible??


My 2011 through pictures.

1. Rollar coaster

This year has been a roller coster. A lot of changed happened. I moved houses. We got ipads. Senor year and stress, deasdlines, and test scores, a lot of things have been overwelming.

2. Happiness

The picture of my lttle nephew represents happiness; he is always so happy, joyful, and extremely hyper. The year of 2011 was a very happy year with a lot of joyful moments. I'm still alive and with my family. I still have all my limds. I'm very happy and grateful.

3. Discovery

I discovered a lot about myself and other people that I did not know before. I discovered new talents and interest.

4. Independence

In 2011 I felt I was more independent. My mom gave me more responsibilities. I also had more independent in the choices I made and through the college process. The independence of 2011 will lead to the independence to 2012, which is when I start college.

5. Family/Friends

In 2011 I made new friends, I lost friends, I became closer
Chicago's blizzardChicago's blizzardChicago's blizzard

Cars are abandoned on Chicago's Lake Shore Drive during the "Snowpocalypse" in February
to friends, and I became distant to other friends. I also became closer to my family. With family and friends in my life, 2011 was an amazing year!



Pictures

Images are a very useful resources to historians. You have heard this before "A Picture is worth a thousand words". This is very true because a picture can express or show emotion, and it can be evidence that something occured. It can show emptyness, it can show abundance, it can show happiness, and it can show sadness. It is basicaaly a snapshot of the past. This is very benefical to historians becasue they are given the opportunity to look at the past and learn from it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

EgyptEgypt
Egypt

Christians protect Muslims during prayer in Cairo, Egypt
Roller CoasterRoller Coaster
Roller Coaster

This year was a roller coaster!


Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb