Day 2: Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
June 15th 2009
Published: June 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last Oberlin Notes


As we were leaving the "obies" I noticed one little phrase that I wouldn't have expected to strike me. I asked our hosts if I could look at a book and the owner of the book said that he wouldn't mind "a mite" where as I know that I would have said "I don't mind a bit." I understand both, and just found it interesting that only two states away, that something small like that would strike me as odd.

Please note that I understand that I have my own accent. I will always try to include what I would say to point out my own colloquialisms, as well as those I meet on the way.

Day 2: Chicago


We passed throught Indiana today into Illinois. One thing that I noticed was the immediate difference one felt when passing borders. Ohio felt rather quaint and held together, Indiana felt like farms, and so far I like the city feel of Chicago. (I've heard a couple of different pronounciations of this, ranging from Chicago where the ca sounds like the Boston version of Car, or the ca sounding more like a New York accent, but I should get more input)

Tonight the family is going to listen to a Carrillon concert which I am rather excited for even though I hear them often outside my room in PA.

Turkey in Chicago?


I am staying with a family who used to live in New York, but moved to Chicago who are hosting a turkish kid, so I do not have the greatest sources for hand gestures, or accents from Chicago, but I have learned a few Turkish things. The most interesting of which (but certainly not the only thing I learned) is that the slight upward nod, which I associate with a salutation, means no in Turkey, and is usually accompanied with a "tsk" sound. Of course he has somewhat of an accent, but his english is very good, so I don't notice many grammatical aspects of his accent.

Final notes





Advertisement



16th June 2009

This is such an interesting way to look at a trip. I'm looking forward to reading more as you get farther west. Indiana. I know. Total farm country. Shattered Glass is a great movie, and gated communities scare me, too.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb