Summer Vacation St. Louis-Chicago 2007 Day 4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 11th 2007
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Love Of My LifeLove Of My LifeLove Of My Life

Looking out at Lake Michigan.
Day 2 in Chicago!

Today is Museum day! We had an action packed day planned so we woke up early and headed over to the Shedd Aquarium first. My favorite animals were the beluga whales. They are so white! But their babies are born gray.

Afterwards we walked along Lake Michigan to reach the Planetarium where we learned a lot about the planets and our universe.

Then we headed over to Millenium Park to people watch and marvel at the mirror bean. Its such a cool sculpture! Plus a million people just walk around and stuff.

Next we headed over to get a closer look at Lake Michigan so that I may stick my feet in it. I can now say I have stuck my feet in 3 out of 5 Great lakes: Ontario, Superior, and Michigan.

We ended our day at Navy Pier where I once again tested my mettle by getting on the Ferris Wheel. Seeing the Chicago skyline from here made it all worth it though!

But my feet are KILLING me! I need a good rest.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Shedd AquariumShedd Aquarium
Shedd Aquarium

Sea Horses relaxing.
Penguins!Penguins!
Penguins!

Penguins just hanging out.
Beluga WhaleBeluga Whale
Beluga Whale

The babies are born black and then turn white as they reach adulthood.
Waiting For the Dolphin ShowWaiting For the Dolphin Show
Waiting For the Dolphin Show

That's Lake Michigan and the Adler Planetarium in the background.
Adler PlanetariumAdler Planetarium
Adler Planetarium

This place was fun!
Earth RiseEarth Rise
Earth Rise

Seeing the Earth rise from the moon.
Future AstronautFuture Astronaut
Future Astronaut

Off to conquer the moon.
Sears TowerSears Tower
Sears Tower

Catching a glimpse of the Sears Tower from the Pier.
John Hancock BuildingJohn Hancock Building
John Hancock Building

My favorite building...EVER.
Buckingham FountainBuckingham Fountain
Buckingham Fountain

Apparently its a Married With Children landmark.
Millenium ParkMillenium Park
Millenium Park

Kids love the changing faces and spitting water.
Millenium Park AgainMillenium Park Again
Millenium Park Again

The bean is amazingly smooth and reflective.
Lake MichiganLake Michigan
Lake Michigan

At the beach in northern Chicago. The water was way too cold to swim in.
Navy PierNavy Pier
Navy Pier

Ferris Wheels are fun!


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb