Summer Vacation St. Louis-Chicago 2007 Day 5


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
July 12th 2007
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

More fun in Chicago!

We decided it be a good idea to visit my dear friend the Hancock Building once again to see Chicago during the day light hours. It did not disappoint! The city looks great from up there.

However, we spent the bulk of our day at the Filed Museum looking at its billion and one specimens and collections. Of course, the huge T-Rex in the Grand Hall dominated my visit. Dinosaur Sue is HUGE and we read about her in my 4th grade class. I took a bunch of pictures so that my students can see her from every angle possible. Plus so they can know that yes I did see Sue as well 😊

The boring peanut worm was my second favorite thing too!

Afterwards, we headed over to the very free Art Institute of Chicago by the elevated lines. I LOVE their collection of art! Some of my favorite paintings were on display and seeing Seurat's La Grande Jatte was an excellent experience!

By my feet were KILLING me once again! I reached a point where I could just not walk anymore so we sat at the steps of the museum and just watched the people pass by for a good hour.

Afterwards we rode the EL Train in circles just for the fun of it.

Poor feet! I need some new ones!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Posing with the Sears Tower Behind MePosing with the Sears Tower Behind Me
Posing with the Sears Tower Behind Me

This really is my favorite view, day or night.
Washing WindowsWashing Windows
Washing Windows

Decided to help out at the Hancock Building.
Field MuseumField Museum
Field Museum

Biggest T-Rex...EVER.
Dinosaur SueDinosaur Sue
Dinosaur Sue

My kids at school are obsessed with Sue.
Boring Peanut WormBoring Peanut Worm
Boring Peanut Worm

You have no idea how funny I think this is. "Whats that? Oh, its just a boring peanut worm."
Stuffed Animals Are FunStuffed Animals Are Fun
Stuffed Animals Are Fun

Me and Tiger having a laugh.
The Man Eaters of TsavoThe Man Eaters of Tsavo
The Man Eaters of Tsavo

The film Ghost in the Darkness was based on these two lions.
The Art Institute 1The Art Institute 1
The Art Institute 1

Paris Street, Rainy Day by Caillebotte.
The Art Institute 2The Art Institute 2
The Art Institute 2

Van Gogh Self-Portrait
The Art Institute 3The Art Institute 3
The Art Institute 3

Seurat's Le Grande Jatte
The Art Institute 4The Art Institute 4
The Art Institute 4

Pinky Monkey LOVES great art.
The Art Institute 5The Art Institute 5
The Art Institute 5

At the Moulin Rouge by Toulouse-Latrec.
The Art Institute 6The Art Institute 6
The Art Institute 6

The Bath by Mary Cassat.
The Art Institute 7The Art Institute 7
The Art Institute 7

American Gothic by Grant Wood.
The El TrainThe El Train
The El Train

Riding the EL Train as if it was a ride at Six Flags.
Chicago!Chicago!
Chicago!

Great sign we ran across.


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb