Sheep Massacres and Fossils


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho » Sandpoint
September 20th 2016
Published: September 20th 2016
Edit Blog Post

We decided a few weeks ago to take a short road trip to Glacier National Park, after school started and before snow closed the roads. We decided to book our hotel in Whitefish at the lower "no cancellations" rate...and now we are headed for rain...and some snow!

Today Bill drove us from home to Sandpoint, Idaho. We took the North Cascades Highway most of the way here. We started out in dry, but cloudy weather, had heavy rain until we passed "Rainy Pass" and then alternated between rain showers and sun for the rest of the day. The countryside was very beautiful for almost all of today's drive!

I always travel with the Roadside History and Roadside Geology books in my lap. And then I ask Bill to take endless side trips, and our compromise is I get to do some of these, and others I have to see as we drive by...

Today I didn't get to stop at the Curtis Sheep Massacre site (http://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/22188), but I did get to look for fossils in Republic! The site (http://stonerosefossil.org/) was sort of closed (for small fee you can crack open the shale...but no one was there), but not closed off...so I looked around in the shale fragments, and found a leaf fossil!

We also visited Log Flume Historical Park (https://www.wta.org/go-hiking/hikes/log-flume/) in the rain...I walked the loop...Bill went back to the car...

I requested a few more detours that were a bust, so we won't discuss them...

We head for Whitefish, Montana, in the morning....


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb