New Adventures


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
September 22nd 2005
Published: September 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Getting preparedGetting preparedGetting prepared

... excited as hell
Hi!

I'm sorry that I couldn't write the last week. There were so many things to do but I made some pictures just for you :-) so that you can share those precious moments with me.

First of all I did something that I wanted to do a long time ago..... I was SKYDIVING (german: Fallschirmspringen) !!! They kicked me out of a plane 14,000 Ft. above sea level. That's almost 5 km! It was one of my best experiences ever and I'm not quite sure if I should do it again. After you land on the ground it takes you a while until you realize what you've done. After that the whole jump seems to you like a dream -- a very wild dream.

The next experience was my first lesson on a surfboard. I met this guy named Felix from munich who stayed in my hostel the time I was still there and coincidentally we found out that we're studying the same thing at the same university back home and that we knew the same people there, but we never met before. Anyway, this nice guy knew how to surf so he took me out to the beach of Waikiki and gave me my first lesson on my own board, that I bought second hand. It's not a bad one and I only paid 60$, fair enough I guess.
It was such a fun being in the warm water, waiting for the right moment and then paddle as fast as possible to catch the wave. On the first day I stood 3 waves, not bad for a beginner, huh!?
Thanx to you Felix for showing me how, I hope you're doing fine in Santa Barbara!
Now I'm going to surf almost every second day, because it's so much fun.

Of course I didn't forget to catch some culture, too. One day I went to the Polynesian Cultural Center. It's a very touristic place but still great entertainment and a lot of information about the Polynesian islands in the Pacific. I spent the whole day there and in the evening we had a big Luau'u (traditional hawaiian dinner with dancing and singing) and a great show. I strongly recommend this place to anybody who is going to visit the island of O'ahu.
And since my lil' sis and my cousin were complaining, I added especially for you guys some hula girls and boys.

The only thing that I'm missing right now is my "Wies'n" (Munich's big beer festival). I hope my buddies have a good time there and drink one two "Mass" for me. Next year I'll be with you again, hopefully!

I say especially hello to those who had to leave the island. To Joey and Laura from Australia, to Alex and Greg from the U.S and Jo from U.K. Hope to see all of you guys again, I had a great time with you!


That's it so far, hope you're all right. Miss u already!
Bye,
Kassra


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

this is ME....this is ME....
this is ME....

...believe it or not
happy to be back on earthhappy to be back on earth
happy to be back on earth

me and Matthias after the jump
first day on the boardfirst day on the board
first day on the board

Felix had an underwater cover for his digicam, if you're wondering
first day on the board 2first day on the board 2
first day on the board 2

nice view by the way
This is Felix the teacherThis is Felix the teacher
This is Felix the teacher

isn't he the perfect surfer dude!?
Typical guy from SamoaTypical guy from Samoa
Typical guy from Samoa

producing coconut milk
Women from AotearoaWomen from Aotearoa
Women from Aotearoa

... sorry not the best picture
ancient boatancient boat
ancient boat

they were faster as the ships of captain cook! No kidding...
hawaiian womenhawaiian women
hawaiian women

performance during the Luau'u
hawaiian women 2hawaiian women 2
hawaiian women 2

performance during the Luau'u
big showbig show
big show

after we were stuffed from the Luau'u


22nd September 2005

Like
I like your travelblog... It is awsome... I really liked the picture of you on the surfboard... COOL... :) See you soon... KUHH
22nd September 2005

Hey Kassra ist ja cool, dass ich nen Platz auf deiner fotopinwand bekommen habe ;) muss echt sagen die Bilder von unserem sunsetsurf sind echt der Hammer! Ich kann mich zwar wirklich nicht uebre Kalifonien beklagen...aber leichte startprobleme gabs schon...hab jetzt seit einer Woche uebelstes Couchsurfing betrieben, mal hier mal dort. erste station waren greg and alex....liebe gruesse aus calle auch an deine mates
23rd September 2005

niiice
I see, you're really having fun over there! So you have to proof your surfing skills in the Iceriver (Eisbach) when you are back! Have a good time!
23rd September 2005

nice
hey kassi.... nice pictures plus u r a damm crazy guy... jumping and surfing, thats exactly what i wanna do ... have fun dude!!!! greetings from good old munich ;-) diddy
24th September 2005

Le club!
Congratulations bro' and welcome to the 14000 Ft club without the airplane :) Well done with the surfin as well and really good picture of you on the board. Well everything seems going just as supposed to in O´ahu. I know tonight is going to be a big night for you and I want to wish you a very very very pleasant and HAPPY BIRTHDAY. I know it´s tomorrow but I figured you´d start to celebrate so I wanna be the first to tell you that :) Have lots of fun, email me if I can reach you on the phone and I´ll give you a call soon for more "inside" info,,,, Aloha
17th October 2005

Das Leben ist ungerecht
Irgendwie habe ich den Eindruck, dass mit dem "ich studiere auf Hawaii..." ist ne RIESEN verarsche!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb