Diamond Head hike


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
August 29th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Finally dragged my butt out of bed around 8:30 am after that crazy night. I got dressed and then caught a bus over to diamond head. It’s a bit of a walk from the bus stop to the start of the actual hike. I paid my $1 entry fee into the park and then ate my breakfast. It was SO HOT on the hike. I was just drenched in sweat. It’s not a very hard hike, takes about 1.5 hours round trip. There are switchbacks all the way up the crater. You have to climb a ton of stairs and then go through a tunnel before climbing more stairs and then climbing up an army bunker. Finally at the top you can walk around a little area. The view is AMAZING though. You can see Waikiki beach with all the resorts on the one side and the ocean on the other. Worth the hike up!

The long walk back down wasn’t too bad but it was still hot so I treated myself to a shave ice before catching the bus back to the hostel. I met up with a couple of girls from the room and we all went down to the beach. I immediately jumped into the ocean to cool off. It felt amazing!!! I spent a couple of hours in the water and on the beach. Got back to hostel and then we all went out for dinner at a cool cheeseburger place. I had an island burger which has a pineapple on it, so yummy! Oh and I had a Mai Tai 😊

Was exhausted so just went back to hostel and visited with a couple of other girls.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.2019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb