The City of Angels to Paradise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
December 4th 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Los Angeles

Arrived into LA excited and ready to go...ok yah thats a lie. I arrived into Los Angeles feeling crappy and ready to go to sleep. My whole body was achy, I could NOT get comfortable on the plane and all I wanted to do was go to sleep. I walked down the stairs and found Ike. He ended up booking a hotel room for me due to roommate issues which at first I was PISSED about. I had told him so many times I didnt want to stay in a hotel..I would rather just stay in a hostel with “my people” aka backpackers. He then told me my hotel was at Hollywood and Highland, right in the middle of everything.then I found out it was a really really nice hotel and he was paying for it as a going away present. I felt the achiness set in and realized I could have a big giant white fluffy bed with a TV and a view of the Hollywood sign. Needless to say after a few minutes of processing I was thanking Ike over and over for my hotel room.

LA was great this time around. Spent some quality time with Jason, not as much as I would have liked but definitely good quality time nonetheless. Watched a Christmas parade and drank a pitcher of margaritas with Jamie. That chick is absolutely crazy.. she will do anything. I mean anything. She always equals a good time. I love her. Ike finally got me to Takami. Dave introduced me to Takami when I came out to LA to see him in July. Its three different Japanese styles of kitchens so you order off different parts of the menu. I had lamb chops, asparagus, and shitake mushrooms. I savored each and every bite. We had the same server I had last time and she actually remembered me. Good server. And last but not least spent some time with Kara. Kara was originally going to be my travel buddy but she decided to make a change and move to LA. Im so impressed with this chick. She came out there with really no friends and no job. Now she is making friends..working A LOT and making it all work. She says its hard but she is doing it. Her and I spent a day in Runyon Canyon and window shopping then last night we went to a sneak peek of the movie Doubt.

We showed up to the theatre about two hours early..we started to see lots and lots of orange. Come to find out there is a movie premiere going on. Oh how exciting!!! A movie premiere!!! Not so much, it was a Nickelodeon Drake and Josh Christmas movie premiere. Let me translate..about 20 kids in a cute outfits walking down an orange carpet..it wasnt even a red carpet. Ha. Kara and I did have a moment of “wooh!!” when we got Tony Hawk pointed out to us. I just walked up to him with Kara beside me. I thought of all the intelligent things I could say to this athlete and said “Tony!!! Hey Tony!! Smile and wave so I can take a picture” So he smiled and waved..then I took a picture. It was a very special moment in my life. Ha.

Doubt was fantastic. The write/director did a Q and A afterwards. I loved the fact that this playwright wrote a play...changed it to screenplay format AND directed it. Hearing his thought process behind all of it was fantastic. I walked up to him and shook his hand after. Not many people actually inspire a handshake from me but this man was pretty freaking great so I thought he deserved it.

Now I am in sunny Waikiki waiting for this guy Darek to wake up and then we are heading to the North Shore to watch people surf 25 foot waves. I am VERY excited to see the big waves.
More to come
Love
Jennie


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



4th December 2008

Yay for Updates!
ohh- hawaii! i can't wait to hear more about it- D and I are thinking of visiting this spring- let me know of any can't miss spots! love you!!
5th December 2008

Oh I'm already getting jealous....
I love you so much and am soooo excited for you. It sounds so amazing so far and there is so much more to come. I am living vicariously through you so make sure you really savor every moment. I am destined to be common law white trash from the dotte soon (things are coming along well on the deal with the house) so you are my only connection with adventure. I may start my own remodeling blog! Ha! I'm sure soooo many people would be interested in that. NOT! Love you! Hugs! and call me tonight if you can (anytime after 9pm my time).

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb