A sunburn, a sail, and really bigass waves


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
December 6th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My feet :-)My feet :-)My feet :-)

Its the stereotypical shot I will probably do loads this trip
My last two days here in Hawai'i have been fantastic. This place is exactly what I pictured in my head. Beautiful scenery and laid back people. My friend Darek has been showing me an amazing time. My first full day here we went to this isolated beach. There were only about 20 people on this huge beach complete with lighthouse and an island just off the coast. Lindsey, his roommate, and their friend Gerny went with us. We all just laid around and occasionally cooled off in the sea. We ended up going to a bar/grill called Kona and proceeded to drink from about 3:30 in the afternoon to 6. I met a guy named Shayne at the bar who was also traveling alone. We made plans to hang out the next day. Darek's crew and I headed back to their place where I took a shower and made time to watch Survivor. Yes people, I go all the way to Hawaii to watch Survivor. I love that show.
The next day my new friend Shayne picked me up from my hostel and we drove to the North Shore. Walking up to Bonzaii Pipeline was awesome. Its exactly like you see in the movies. There were photographers and spectators everywhere and of course about 20 surfers all lined up in the sea. The waves were huge. You knew they were big but once a surfer actually got on one and made the drop you had the scale of this six foot man against the 15 foot sometimes 20 foot waves. We watched for 4 hours and I could have watched longer. We saw some bad falls but no one got injured badly. Saw a cut foot and some broken boards but that was the extent.
Shayne and I rushed back to the Waikiki area because Darek works on a sailboat that takes out friends and family every Friday evening. That's right ya'll...a sunset sailboat cruise for free. Its BYOB and everyone just drinks out of this big community cooler. Half the boat saw a whale but I was on the other side of the boat. Grrr...It was amazing though. The sunset and all the other sailboats around. It was the perfect end to the day. Went to bed early after an episode of Gilmore Girls on my laptop. Now I'm sitting in the hostel community area taking it easy. My sunburned
North ShoreNorth ShoreNorth Shore

Only crazy people attempt to swim in these waves
nose wants to stay out of the sunlight so I'm fulfilling its wish for a little while. Miss you all.
Love


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The wrong side of the boatThe wrong side of the boat
The wrong side of the boat

Didn't get to see the whale but a spectacular view


6th December 2008

Yay- I am glad you've been having fun in Hawaii! Love you!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb