Home again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
May 18th 2008
Published: May 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is my last night in Hawaii - and I am ready to go home. I am tired of living out of a suitcase and tired of strange beds. The last two weeks have been unbelievable. Really.

The day after we did Punch Bowl and Pearl Harbor, we went to the USS Missouri and the Pacific Aviation Museum. It was incredible. Though it was a long day for Grandpa I think he really enjoyed it. He told us several things on the ship and then when we went to the aviation museum he was really talkative. A docent there came over and was chatting with him for awhile, and then we moved on to a floor map of the Pacific where Grandpa was toeing out all of the islands he had been on or bombed. It was very interesting and very emotional for him I think. While we were all listening, the Educational Director from the museum came up and said that she had heard there was a celebrity in attendance! Grandpa was a little embarrassed by the attention I think but held up well. She asked him if it would be alright if they could set up a time for him to come down and tell his story for 'the record'. They have a program where verterans can come and be interviewed about their experiences and then a copy of the video is archived and a copy is given to the family. We have been wanting Grandpa to do this for so long and we were all just thrilled! Grandpa is very nervous I think, but said the only reason he is doing it is for the kids and the grandkids. And I know we will all appreciate it so much! I have learned so much about both he and my Grandma this trip, memories that I know will last a lifetime. Hawaii was already one of my favorite places but I know that this trip will give Waikiki an even more special place in my heart.

I leave tomorrow, and it's back to work on Monday. Boo-hoo. But I will survive. And actually, I don't even think I will mind too much. This Rockstar is ready for her tour to end.

To those of you who have kept up with my World Tour, thanks. See you soon.

Advertisement



18th May 2008

A ROCKSTAR LIFE - NEVER
It has been great reading about your rock-star tour but we all know a rock star life would never suit you. You are too level headed. see you when we get home it was great sharing Hawaii with you love Mom

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb