My Grandpa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Aloha! To be truthful, I think the travelling is catching up with me a bit - I am so tired! But today was to fabulous not to share.

We got up this morning and my Dad fixed a great breakfast of french toast - yummy! It was fun having breakfast with everyone and catching up since I hadn't seen my family since before I left for China. After breakfast, we went to punchbowl cemetary and also Peal Harbor. Punchbowl was so awesome. My Grandpa told us about where he had been in the Pacific during the war, and other people that were there to view the memorial were even listening intently to what he had to say. It seemed to be very emotional for him, but I was amazed at how clear his memory was of everything. My Grandma was so proud too. She would never admit to that, but to watch her, as Grandpa spoke, well...it was worth coming here for, to be sure. We took lots of pictures and had a great time. I also learned some history of my Grandparents courtship which was very lovely.

This afternoon we spent some time in the waters of Waikiki, and really, who can ever say anything bad about that?? A fool, that's who. It was fun. Grandma & Grandpa didn't come in the water, not really, but they did take their shoes off and take a walk together down the beach while Mom, Dad, and I were in the water. I told my Mom once that movies create an unrealistic picture of romance for girls, and then amended it to say that my parents were the ones creating that for me. I now must amend that to say that my Grandparents must have started it. The love and devotion the share is clear to anyone who sees them, and I can only dream of having that kind of love. The kind that lasts and never fades, no matter what.

China was amazing, and such an opportunity to experience the world...but I suspect I will treasure these memories far more.

I took video of my Grandpa talking and hope to post that on my blog soon - as soon as I figure out how rto do it! In the meantime, enjoy these few pictures and I will write again soon.

Aloha!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My GrandparentsMy Grandparents
My Grandparents

I consider myself blessed beyond measure to have them.


17th May 2008

Priceless
Those memories you're creating are absolutely priceless. Thank you so much for sharing them with the rest of us! I love you.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb