Arrival to Oahu


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Laie
January 10th 2013
Published: January 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

My trip to Hawaii has officially started finally. I flew 2hrs30min to Houston, Tx for a 2hr stop and then 8h to Honolulu,Oahu.

I had to pay extra for each checked in bag. $35 for first bag and $25 for second. Not so bad considering that I have almost all my gear and its one stop. My checked luggage left yesterday with my original plane. In my 30 lbs carry on I have a spare camera body, optics, strobes, strobe battery packs, a fleece and pretty much anything that I wasn’t going to use during the flight but than needs to be in the compressed cabin. I am glad they didn’t weight it and I could wheel it around. In my backpack I travel every thing that I use: laptop, ipad, iphone, ipod, 2 strobe battery packs (had to take them out of my check-in to avoid extra weight charges), my main camera body with a 28mm-70mm (which I love for an all around lens and power bars, chewing gum, toothpast and brush and a tiny deo.



The United Airline 747 is uncomfortable even though they gave me one of the wider sections in the middle. I don’t complain but wow the sits were really un-ergonomic, the storage high up and hard to reach for a small person like me, they didn’t even give crackers on a 8hr flight and left the hallway light on the entire time. So my plans of sleeping went straight to the trash. When I arrived my bags were waiting for me so no sweat there. My mom took me for a ride around Waikiki and she had dinner reservation at a Japanese restaurant. I felt at home. I was wiped by dessert and crashed on the back of the car during the 1 hr drive home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb