Wine, Beer & Tropical Drinks


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
July 7th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

drinks at the Moana Surfriderdrinks at the Moana Surfriderdrinks at the Moana Surfrider

yeah, yeah, we're holding hands...nothing serious...just enjoying the day
July 6-7
Monday
What is that? Clouds in the skies? Noooo! Well, I’ve been lucky, that’s for sure. I haven’t seen too many overcast or rainy days since I’ve arrived here; today just happened to be one of them. So, what do you do when it’s overcast in Hawaii? Shop, of course.

Bill and I decided to head over to the Ala Moana Center to do some shopping for a while. I really love this mall! Come to think of it, I love all malls! But, this is truly a great place to spend the day shopping. And the sales! For a tourist destination, the sales are just incredible. I’m still thinking of heading back to the Lucky Brand store (all 75%!o(MISSING)ff by the way) for a cute belt. Anyways, we spent a few hours shopping and playing around in the stores.

I found an awesome store that not only sold clothes, but sold an experience as well; it’s called Ruehl. It’s like a Hollister design, but when you’re shopping in the small, dark rooms, the music is rockin, and it almost feels like you’re out at a club and there should be a drink in your hand. Unfortunately, while looking it up online just now to figure out the spelling I learned that it’s a brand of Abercrombie & Fitch and they’re planning on closing all these stores by January 2010. Why can’t they keep Ruehl open and close the dumb Abercrombie stores? I did find a great pair of jean shorts here…and I’ve got to add how excited I am that they’re back in style.

Lunchtime came and we picked up sushi, a salad, and a bottle of wine at the grocery store and headed across the street to the giant Ala Moana Beach Park. Wine in the middle of a Monday…gotta love the summer! As I’ve mentioned before, Bill’s an avid Ultimate Frisbee player, so we played Frisbee in the park for a while. I learned that there are many ways to throw a Frisbee, of which I am only good at one, but who knew?

We began making our way back towards home around five and got sidetracked at the Moana Surfrider Beach Bar for tropical drinks and the sunset. Well…really we were just going to sit in the rocking chairs on the porch, which is something I keep saying I want
Sunset at the Moana SurfriderSunset at the Moana SurfriderSunset at the Moana Surfrider

view from the beach bar
to do, but haven’t yet. And instead, we ended up at the beach bar for drinks and a great view. What a sunset it was! I ordered my mai tai, but realized that I have been here over a month now and have yet to order a lava flow! I love lava flows! We took some fun pictures on the deck after finishing our drinks then headed for home again.

Quickly I changed clothes, (decided to wear heels out tonight) what the heck, and ran to catch the bus to meet up with the Carlson crew again over at a little bar called Harbor Pub. For those who watch Lost, they say it’s the bar when Sawyer supposedly walks in and says something like “I’m in the armpit of Sydney”. If you watch, you’ll remember Sawyer in the bar during the first season. Anyways, it’s a tiny little hole in the wall, with local customers, good beer, and friendly service. We hung out for a few hours, had a great time, and then called it a night around midnight.

Again a little late to be out walking around waiting for a bus. Just outside of Waikiki it’s totally
Carlson Crew @ Harbor PubCarlson Crew @ Harbor PubCarlson Crew @ Harbor Pub

out again with Heather's friends. this time at the Harbor pub.
different. The streets are super quiet, there are many homeless people sleeping in dark places, and buses are more and more infrequent. I changed my heels with the flip flops I had brought in my purse (always thinking) so that I didn’t look like a hooker, which I kind of did with those high heels and short shorts, and I waited at the bus for probably 20 minutes before the second to last bus for the night finally arrived. Relief.

Tuesday
Woke up and ran Diamond Head again…a hot, hilly six miler. I spent some time updating my blog and catching up on email. The big excitement for the day…walking down to Waiola Shave Ice just down the street. It’s the number 1 shave ice in Honolulu, I pass it every single day on my walk to the beach, and today is my first day to get it! Bill and I decided to walk over for a mid afternoon snack and we shared an ice cream bowl shave ice. It’s vanilla ice cream on the bottom covered by a giant mound of shave ice on top, flavored with strawberry and lilikoi (passion fruit). Delicious!!! I’ll be stopping here more
Shopping...one of my favorite thingsShopping...one of my favorite thingsShopping...one of my favorite things

What a store! Ruehl...it's like shopping in a dance club.
frequently from here on out.

Around 4pm I got bored and decided to head to the beach. I spread my towel next to the sand volleyball courts to watch them play. Maybe if I get brave enough, I’ll even ask how to get into a game…

Strangely, while lying out at the beach I ran into Greg’s friend Joel, who I had met my second day here on the hike with Greg. He was handing out flyers for Greg’s big show coming up next weekend. We decided to go grab a beer together - nothing better to do.

And that’s how my life is going here…just making the most of each day. Relaxing, sightseeing, enjoying. I wish it weren’t coming to an end so quickly.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Our Happy Hour drinks at Moana SurfriderOur Happy Hour drinks at Moana Surfrider
Our Happy Hour drinks at Moana Surfrider

If you can't stay there, might as well just drink there. Our afternoon drinks at the beach bar.
Me & Bill at SunsetMe & Bill at Sunset
Me & Bill at Sunset

look at that sky!
Waikiki SunsetWaikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset

one of the most colorful sunsets yet!


10th July 2009

India
Did you know that in India, even straight men hold hands while walking down the street? It is a sign of friendship. I think the world would be a happier place if everyone would hold hands. Think about it, blood pressures would drop, people would speak more softly and with love. Anyways, I just learned this fact this week from one of my yoga blogs/books. Never had a lava flow..need to try one. I am so anxious to get over to HI. For the past three years, I have done so much reading, looking at pictures and dreaming. Nothing compares with your blog though. You have gone from desert rat (meaning that in a nice way as I am a desert rat and proud of it) to island girl (I'd take the latter title though)! Yay for island girls! You should go for Spring Break, too. Next time there, I will investigate shave ice. It sounded like a snow cone to me which I am never interested in. I know the clock is tickingso enjoy every minute! I have no doubt you will be headed back to paradise...it is so addicitve and that way of life wants to become a part of you..better than anyplace I have ever been. Hugs to you!
11th July 2009

WHOOO
sounds like your having SOOOO much fun ;D Even though I know your loving it up there, you better come back! :D I miss you! Love your blogs! I keep forgetting to check if theres a new one or not! :O I re-did my room! and spent 6 hours taking wallpaper iff >( but it was worth it...it looks SOO good! I can't wait for you to see it! <3 Ellie
13th July 2009

Hi Jen! I am still enjoying reading about your daily adventures and enjoying all the photos! You look WONDERFUL!!! This is just the summer you needed! Enjoy each and every moment!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb