Pearl Harbor


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
April 1st 2009
Published: June 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I played Chauffer and Tour Guide the first week of April on the Island of Oahu as my parents and I enjoyed a week in paradise. We stayed in a lovely B&B in Kaneohe Bay overlooking the water. The view from the deck was spectacular and often my parents would look out over the water and see something large and round swimming around in the bay. We guessed it was probably a turtle; sea turtles are abundant on Oahu.

Two full days and another half day were spent at Pearl Harbor visiting the USS Arizona Memorial, the USS Bowfin and the USS Missouri. My dad and I are both quite fond of history and especially WWII, so we didn't really want to miss anything by rushing our visit. At the USS Arizona Memorial, visitors are asked to whisper out of respect for the 1102 men still entombed beneath the water. (A total of 1177 men were killed on the Arizona.) The sunken vessel has become a living reef for marine life, despite the fact oil continues to leak from the hull. Nobody seems able to agree on the amount of oil that leaks each day, however, it is widely agreed that saltwater deteriorating the oil tanks will most likely cause a massive rupture in the future causing extensive damage to the harbor and the marine life that call it "home."

I must confess I was surprised and disappointed the National Park Service is in control of the memorial. I fully expected the Navy to be in charge and looked forward to seeing them as we visited. I asked one of the unkempt park rangers if he had ever been in the military before and he had not. Am I the only one who thinks there is something wrong with this picture!?!

I was unable to find the memorial dedicated to the Marines who were killed during Pearl Harbor, and even asking around nobody seemed to know what I was talking about! It was more than a little frustrating because I am certain there is a Marine Corps Memorial somewhere close to the Bowfin! Perhaps if the unkempt park ranger had ever been in the military, he might have been more aware of where exactly the monuments were at Pearl Harbor. Maybe I'll be able to find it the next time I'm there...

Hope you enjoy the pictures!
"Home" on Oahu"Home" on Oahu"Home" on Oahu

We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroom, 2 bath condo overlooking Kaneohe Bay. My room was enormous with several dressers and a sofa and a private bathroom. My parent's room had a private bathroom and a private deck overlooking the bay. As you can see in the photo the kitchen/living area was quite large as well.
We had a great time.



Additional photos below
Photos: 83, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Koko HeadKoko Head
Koko Head

1,050 steps to the top! This is on my list for a future visit...along with the Haiku Stairs. :)
Rabbit Island aka Manana IslandRabbit Island aka Manana Island
Rabbit Island aka Manana Island

Rabbits raised there until 1994, were removed to conserve the fragile ecosystem. The Island is now a protected seabird sanctuary.


24th June 2009

thanks
Deb, I always enjoy your blogs so much so keep them coming. Looks beautiful and sounds as if you all had a great time.
24th June 2009

Kindergarten
I really want to find the time to take Bria back and show her where we lived and where she went to school and where her dad worked, etc. Maybe someday. Thanks for sending the blogs, Cali
25th June 2009

Hawaii
Hey young lady did you see where i lived at the base haha. I was stationed there for a year before we did the mine sweeping at haiphong harbor Lots of great times did you make it to the pali look out. Take care and keep having fun you lucky duck:):):):)semper fi wojo
26th June 2009

Marine Corps Base at Kaneohe Bay!
I've been on that base before! I was there last year when I visited a friend who was in Hawaii briefly. I even got to go to the store where the Marine Corps items are sold and bought an olive green sweatshirt and sweatpants with USMC on them. :) I was so excited about it the lady behind the counter demanded to see military ID! LOL I also got a USMC shot glass with emblem on it to add to the tacky but growing shot glass collection I have. Glad you three are doing well...I miss you guys!
26th June 2009

Bria grew up in Hawaii?!
I don't believe I've ever heard her mention that before! Nice to hear from you Cali! I love following your travels on Facebook!
26th June 2009

Miss you!
It's been great seeing you so often on FB!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb