First day on O'ahu


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
February 12th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I promised pictures, didn't I? Today is my day to sleep in, so I got up around 9, and I've been resizing photos while I wait for someone to get back from running a military errand. Then we go to the mall! YAY! So here we go!

Our first stop was the USS Arizona Memorial. We drove over, got our tickets, and had to wait a little over an hour for our tour to begin. So we wandered around and took some pictures. We ended up heading out to the memorial around 10:30. When we got back we took a quick tour of the Bowfin, then took the bus over to Ford Island to see the USS Missouri.

We took the bus back to our car, put the top down, then drove back over to Ford Island to see what very few tourists get to see. Gotta LOVE military benefits, because after a salute and a "Thank you, sir" we were on the causeway. We went over to the Utah Memorial, which has the sub tipped over and sticking part of the way out of the water, and a beautiful white cement monument. Another humbling memorial.

In the evening, we boarded a sunset dinner cruise that took us around Diamondhead. It was absolutely beautiful, the food and drinks were great, and the entertainment was, well, entertaining.

Then back to the hotel, where I, of course, fell into a booze soaked sleep. I woke up this morning and I looked like sunburned death hungover. Today's mission: the mall and a luau. More tomorrow!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb