Shopaholic Unleashed!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
September 3rd 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It is Saturday
Quiet at the Shopping Mall
Too hot for a hike.

Anita got up bright and early for half marathon training. She’s aiming to run a half marathon in November. It’s too bad I won’t be in Atlanta at that time to cheer her on. I won’t be here in person but I will be here in spirit. 😊

These last couple of days I just can’t seem to sleep in for some reason. Perhaps it’s the anticipation of being on a huge cruise ship in about 30 hours time…

So I lounged on the sofa watching TV when I had an epiphany…I don’t need to burn my photos to CD. I can send them via email to Vic’s Gmail account and he can download them at home. Now this is a bit of a slow process but there isn’t much else I can do and I don’t want to have to buy yet another memory card. I was also on Yahoo chat with Jean. I met Jean back in Ho Chi Minh City back in February. She’s currently living in Atlanta and I hope to be able to meet up with her when I get back from my week of cruising.

Being busy on the computer I didn’t notice that a couple of hours had passed and Anita was back from her five mile run. She whipped up some yummy eggs and some pancake type things with feta cheese. Yummers!

After a bit of a rest we took off for the mall. It was like I hadn’t done any serious shopping in a mall ever. With lots of sales going on it was really hard to resist some of the bargains that kept leaping in front of me! I ended up purchasing some really nice striped shirts that will come in handy when I do decide to re-join the working world. A belt. A scarf/belt. Two pairs of shoes. One pair of black dressy mules and one pair of red casual runners. I think that Anita is a “bad” influence and my shopaholic tendencies are showing through again. Lol

I got a good example of why Atlanta is called Hotlanta. It was super hot out today. We were going to go out hiking in the afternoon at Stone Mountain but the hot midday sun was too unbearable for hiking up a big Rock. So we went out to lunch at Moe’s for a large burrito and chips that we shared. Then it was back to Anita’s place to enjoy some of the wonderful air conditioning that was nicely cooling her home. True to form I exhibited my multi-tasking talents and watched the “Italian Job” while downloading photos at the same time.

By the time we finished watching the movie it was about time for dinner. Hmm, doesn’t look like we’ll have time to hike up Stone Mountain since it tends to get dark close to 8PM. So we had a bite to eat at home. I had to go outside to use the phone since Anita’s cell phone has terrible reception inside her own home. Now that really sucks! Amazingly I was able to get a hold of Jean on the phone with only being cut off twice and we made plans to meet up when I got back to Atlanta after cruising.

It was a pretty quite night out. Anita and I caught a movie - “The Forty Year Old Virgin” and we were home around midnight. This movie is good for a few cheap laughs but definitely not Oscar material. Haha When we got home we were both feeling a little peckish so I whipped up some waffle batter and in no time flat we were chowing down on some waffles, whipped cream and fruit. Yum-mee!

Wow! One more sleep and I’m off to Miami and onto a cruise ship!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb