A day to work on the "to-do" list.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
September 2nd 2005
Published: February 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I made some waffles
Topped with ice cream and some fruit
Fun to be cooking.

I woke up early and said goodbye to Anita as she headed off to work. Hmm, I don’t feel like going back to sleep yet I don’t feel like doing anything in particular. So I just lazed about on the sofa watching the morning TV programs. Most of the coverage is on Hurricane Katrina that just ripped through New Orleans. It was really kind of depressing to watch after a while. So eventually I rolled off of the sofa and gathered up my clothes that needed to be laundered. Hmm, I think I can even do a separate lights and darks load! What a treat. Lol

Now what? Hey, I have access to a real kitchen. So I whipped up some waffle batter and pulled out the old waffle iron I bought for Anita back in 2003 when she bought a house in North Carolina. Waffles topped with fruit and vanilla ice cream. Now that is one of the most excellent combinations! Quite the taste sensation I might add! It has been so long since I’ve been cooking in a kitchen that I couldn’t wait for lunch. Lol

Between doing laundry, working on downloading pictures and updating my blog I had the TV on as background noise. It was interesting watching and listening to trash TV like Jerry Springer. Gotta love the trash TV! Soon enough it was about 1:30 in the afternoon and I hadn’t made myself anything for lunch yet. A quick survey of the fridge and I decided on a ham and cheese and tomato omelet. I haven’t made anything with eggs in ages since buying eggs while staying at hostels is not the most practical or healthy for that matter. Consuming a dozen eggs in a few days can’t be good for one’s heart! Just imagine my cholesterol levels if I had done that?!?

Even the simple act of washing dishes did not seem like a chore. I guess since I haven’t really done any regular/routine “housekeeping” duties in ages that a simple act of doing something familiar and mundane doesn’t seem so bad.

Around 4PM I hear the key in the door. That had better be Anita coming home early because I’m not prepared to ward off any intruders especially since my Tai Chi is a little out of practice. Haha Phew! It was Anita off work early. Whoo hoo! So we lounged in front of the TV for a bit before heading out to Target to pick up a few items.

Then it was back to Anita’s place where Anita dished up some yummy Thai Green Curry with rice. One of my all time favourites! Either my taste buds are more sensitive to spicy foods or the curry was pretty hot. My nose started to run and my eyes to water!

The rest of the evening was pretty relaxing. Our only other adventure we went on was to CVS to download some of my pictures onto CD since Anita doesn’t have a burner at home. So I pick my pictures and wait and wait and wait for them to be downloaded and copied. Then I find out fro the store clerk that they don’t have any CD’s in stock at the moment! Doh! Why didn’t you say so when I first came in and told you I was going to burn some photos to CD? So off to another CVS and this time I asked before I started whether they have CD’s available. Yes they do. So I start choosing the photos I want on the Kodak Photo Station monitor and find out that I can only choose 240 photos at a time AND only 120 photos will fit onto one CD. Hmm, my quick calculations tell me that I’ll need at least 6 CD’s which translates to $18. I find it strange that the Kodak Photo Station limits the number of photos to 120 since most disks hold 700MB of data. Guess I’ll have to find another place to download my photos to CD since I only have one memory card left and will likely fill most of that while cruising next week.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb