Dog Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Venice
March 3rd 2017
Published: March 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-03-17 Dog Beach

Today it was going to be Watson's turn to have fun. After the usual morning routine we got in the car and headed for the beach, the dog beach. It was about 20 min away and we found it and the parking lot with no trouble. There was a double gated fenced in area for small dogs and another larger area for big dogs all under trees and beautifully laid out. I discovered that you had to go through the big dog section to get to the beach so off we went.

A short walk later, there it was. This area had some wave action with white sand beaches and lots of dogs, mostly big ones chasing balls in the water. Owners had brought their chairs or just sat on the sand and enjoyed the day with their furry friends. All of the dogs were off leash and running helter skelter, chasing each other or a toy. I was not ready to take Watson off the leash, he had too much energy and I didn't know if he'd come back when I called so I walked and he ran circles around me for a little while til he calmed down a little.

Away from the other dogs I unhooked the leash and he ran around like a mad thing. We played fetch for a little while then it was time to see how he did with the other dogs. He found a doxie mixed with beagle that he really liked and they ran around together for a while til he saw a ball, not his, that he really wanted. A man was throwing it for his dog but Watson got there first so it was his. He brought it back to the man to throw again, he did with both dogs chasing the ball.

I finally got Watson interested in his own ball again and he was having a fun time til a bully pug ran right into Watson's shoulder and tried to steal the ball. A fight pursued, rolling in the surf and all til the lady who owned the pug pulled him off. Watson didn't appear to be injured, the pug's owner apologized, and we went about having more fun without the bully.

Off to the side of the beach I noticed some colorful decorations and went to investigate. Here was a tribute to all the dogs that had played on the beach that had gone "over the rainbow bridge". What a loving tribute to those lost companions.

We headed home and Watson slept all the way. He slept when we got home too. Good to have a tired pup. He didn't seem to be traumatized by his skuffle so I was happy for that.

I put a load of wash in the washer at the bath house and when it was done had a shower there. I am not hooked up to a sewer here in the park so for a long shower requiring a shampoo I go to the bath house vs my own wonderful shower. I am a week here and there is only so much room in the holding tanks, I try to conserve when I can.

Getting all clean and spiffy was necessary because I was going to town for dinner. I met Nell and Jo and 2 of Nell's friends Shirley and Dave in Sarasota at a place called Armand's Circle. It is a large area in town with lots of shops and restaurants for our shopping pleasure. The prices were so outrageous I can't imagine who buys things but people do. A pair of sandals for $198.00 and a shirt for $215.00, I mean come on. So Nell and I went to the restaurant early and had a drink and spent our money wisely.

Dinner was delicious and we all had a really good time. I had filet of sole encrusted with macadamia nuts, asparagus and almond rice, scrumptious. Maybe 2 drinks made it taste better. I'll have the rest tomorrow night.

By the time I got back home and took Watson for a short walk and marveled at the beautiful stars it was time for bed.

The stars in the state parks I have stayed in have been gorgeous. Especially Lake Kissammee. The parks only have lights around the bath houses and since I am far from them, I get a beautiful sky.

The temps are supposed to be cool tonight so I may have to close up some windows.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 99; dbt: 0.1895s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb