Girls Weekend 2015 - Meet the girls and maybe one too many Etsy purchases


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
November 12th 2015
Published: November 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Cheryl and OliviaCheryl and OliviaCheryl and Olivia

Friends since June 18, 1976
This weekend I will be traveling to Savannah, Georgia with my twin sister and some pretty fun lifelong friends. Let's meet them....



Cheryl

Well, for those that do not know Cheryl, she's my twin sister. Even though she is 7 minutes younger than me she is the baby of the family.

When we were growing up we would always eat dinner at the table every night. We would all tell stories at the table, watch the news and sometimes we were still at the table when Wheel of Fortune came on. My family is funny! We would laugh and laugh every night at the dinner table. It was never a dull night at the dinner table. So, truth be known, our parents instilled having fun into our DNA.

Cheryl and I have been on countless family vacations, weekend trips, impromptu beach trips and many a bar hopping nights. Fun will be had with this one on the trip.



Heather

Heather is from Melbourne, FL and currently lives in Wellington, FL.

Me, Cheryl and Heather met at Troy State in 1994. We all pledge the Alpha Delta Pi sorority together. There
Heather and OliviaHeather and OliviaHeather and Olivia

Friends since Troy State 1994
were several friendships that were made on the Bid Day lawn. Who knew that this girl and I would still be talking to each other after 21 years.

We call Heather 'HPH' because those were her initials before she got married.

We have celebrated many birthdays together, visited each others childhood homes, went on a weekend trip in search of snow (ended up in Indiana), been in each others weddings, danced on more tables then we should admit too and have been winging it together in child rearing.

Heather really likes it when I tell her that 'I love her' because I never say things like that. Well, unless there is alcohol involved.

Going on a road trip to pre-celebrate her 40th birthday is going to be memorable.


• Fun fact: our mother's have the same birthday.



Laura

I received a call from a recruiter about a job in South Florida. Jeff and I talked about it and decided that it would be a good career move to move to SFL.

Laura was one of the first friends I met at work.

One of the more memorable stories that
Laura and OliviaLaura and OliviaLaura and Olivia

Friends since South Florida 2002
I have with Laura is when I found out that I was pregnant with Kirby. The night before I took a pregnancy test and Jeff and I found out very quickly that we were going to be parents.

What, what?? 2003 was supposed to be the year the Jeff and I were going to travel and do everything that you can't do when you have children. Anyway, I went to work the next day and Laura came by my desk and I was a total mess. I was hysterically crying! Laura and Penny had to pick me up from my desk and carry me down the hallway to a conference room. All I could say was, 'How am I going to tell my parents?' Needless to say, Laura and Penny just looked and me and laughed.

Anywho, so Laura came along when Jeff and I moved to South Florida back in 2002 and we have been friends ever since.

The topped to this story is she is now married to my brother and together they have their little boy Bradley. Bradley could be the cutest kid on the planet. Just sayin'

Laura and I have also
Del and OliviaDel and OliviaDel and Olivia

Friends since Annsworth 2005
celebrated many birthdays together, some fun nights out on the town and a few road trips over the year.

Laura-kins will be sure to add some F.U.N to the weekend trip.


• Fun fact: our dad's have the same birthday



Del

Del and I met when our two boys were enrolled at daycare in Tallahassee. Both our boys are 2 years old. Their birthdays are within a week of each other.

We were on the birthday circuit together and we volunteered at the preschool over the year that we were there. We eventually moved to a different preschool but Del and I remained friends.

Del and I have had some fun times over these past 10 years. We have been on day trips together, one overnight camping trip, countless girls dinners, plenty of trip to the nail salon and back porch hang outs.

Del always has a fresh and new perspective on things. She is a wonderful girlfriend that will always lend an ear and sometimes open my eyes.

Del says I push her out of her comfort zone. Well friend, this weekend you are getting shoved into the world
Luau themed bachlorette partyLuau themed bachlorette partyLuau themed bachlorette party

Olivia's bachelorette party in Destin, FL
of Olivia, Cheryl, Heather and Laura. Hold on to your hat! It's gonna be interesting.



Preparing for the trip

Heather will be turning 40 in December and Del has been talking about doing a girls trip together. So, we combined the two in a Pre-40th birthday celebration/Girls Weekend.

Heather would really want me to tell you that the reason we are not celebrating her birthday together in December is because the first weekend in December is when I have my annual Cookie Swap. I love love love my Cookie Swap and I fear that if I miss a year it will be hard to start it back up again. It's a thing. Sorry Heather.

Over the years we have had a few bachelorette parties and some girls weekends here and there. We completely understand a themed weekend. In our old age we have gotten craftier ourselves and now there is this awesome site called Etsy! Oh how I love Etsy!

For the weekend we have: group shirts, personalized wine glasses (courtesy of Heather), fancy styrofoam cups (because you can walk around Savannah with adult beverages), personalized 'girls weekend' cups for the bike ride
Boas, boas, everywhere...bachlorette partyBoas, boas, everywhere...bachlorette partyBoas, boas, everywhere...bachlorette party

Heather's bachelorette party
and of course matching pizza necklaces because they are funny. Well, at least that was the theory.

Reality is that none of the vendors took into consideration Veteran's Day so all of the stuff was delayed by a day. Well, that means that everything would be delivered Friday. My mail does not come until 3:30pm so that means that our fun gifts will be in Tallahassee while we are in Savannah. Wha, wha, wha! What the 'bike ride' cups did show up. So, the glass is half full (he, he).



It took us a little time to decide the exact place that we wanted to stay. There are lots of bed and breakfasts, hotels and private home though VRBO to choose from. After about a week of looking we decided to go with an apartment from VRBO. Del has always had luck with VRBO. Me, not so much (refer to my previous blog www.mytb.org/starlingsacrossthepond) but I am willing to give it a try.



It is always a fun time to figure out what to wear when going away for a girls weekend. You know there are going to be pictures and you want
TheoryTheoryTheory

Shirts, wine glasses, group pizza slice necklaces and fun Styrofoam cups
to look cute. Since I have worked from hoe for almost 9 years now my wardrobe is someone limited. I have a few favorite outfits that have been photographed (damn paparazzi!) so I need to buy some cute little outfits for the weekend. After trips to Old Navy, Marshall's, the mall and Beall's I now have three cute little outfits. Well, I think they are cute. I even have a fur vest that I might start sleeping with. It's so warm and cozy.

Then you need to get your eyebrows waxed, paint your nails, dye your hair and all the other fun girl things. Yes, I shaved my legs for this shindig (you are welcome)I'm telling you, it's a week process to leave this town for a weekend!

So after a billion texts, a couple of emails and plenty of FB message we are off to explore Savannah tomorrow.

Later Y'all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0157s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb