St Augustine second day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » St Augustine
November 18th 2009
Published: November 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sitting in the marina lounge washing clothes and computering. I downloaded the update file for my chart plotter. Hopefully it will work in cloudy weather now. I still have to download it into my plotter so ther may be some cussing involved. We are going to stay at anchor tonight and leave for Daytona tomorrow morning early. One of my brother's friends may join us for the ride down. His wife is bringing him later today.

The marina charges $10.60 per day for the dinghy dock which includes showers and laundry and the lounge with tables and chairs and a TV.

Weather has been great and looks good until Friday. Friday and Sat I should be at a marina in Daytona while I take Doug to Orlando to catch a plane. May try to talk Doug's friend into riding to Vero Beach. Apparently you tie up to moring balls there and if it is full you raft up with other people. I have never caught a moring before so another hand would come in handy.

Found a place last night that served two drinks and a slice of pizza for $3. Not very healthy but I could not pass it up.

I talked to a few people here and found out that there are about 15 people living at anchor. They pay a monthly dinghy fee and use the marina facilities and one guy said he had been here at anchor for three years. There are also a few abandoned boats at anchor here. Don't know what the story on those are. They just sit at anchor until they sink apparently. One guy we met said he came here last year from the great lakes and stayed the rest of the winter before going back north. He is heading for the Bahamas this year. He was catching up with his winter St Augustine friends for a while though before he leaves.

I like this area but I think I like Fernandina beach more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



18th November 2009

cheap nights
I wonder if the marina would let a van park for $10.60/day to use showers and laundry? That's way cheaper then camping in FL with pit toilets! If you rent a car check out Juniper Springs and other springs around Ocala to scuba or snorkel - it's beautiful clear water 20 + ft down.
19th November 2009

jealous.........
It sounds like you're having a great time Big Don! I would have loved to join you for the $3 pizza and drink deal. So where are pictures on here? You MUST have some???
20th November 2009

pics
I put pictures on some of the early entries in St Augustine. I just figured out how to do it. More to come. I put them on up to Charleston.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb