St. Augustine, Day 11, mile 520+/-


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » St Augustine
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Florida map two


Patrick AFBPatrick AFBPatrick AFB

relaxin at the beach
Florida map two
Pierce
Hello all! I have made it most of the way through Florida with a brutal head wind most of the way. I guess lately that wind has brought cooler temps for a change. Since Juno Beach I've spent many nights along the beautiful Florida coast. I spent the night in Hobe Sound after a great bistro dinner, live music and free beer. I slept in a field on the edge of town and provided the mosquitoes a good meal. I slept pretty good though as long as I ignored the buzing
mosquitoes and the rumbling freight trains nearby.

The next day I traveled up the coast through Stuart, Fort Pierce, and into Vero Beach. I hadn't slept in a bed for a few days so I stayed in a budget inn. I think this might have been just as bad as sleeping outside but I did enjoy the shower and no mosquitoes. I had dinner at a great
BBQ joint with draft beers only 75 cents!

Next I was on to Patrick AFB just south of Cape Canaveral. Spent the day riding along the beaches, the beautiful beaches. I got a great deal at the AFB, so nice to take advantage of. I checked in and went to the beach. Lounged on the beach till sunset then went back to the room to eat. I had a great nights sleep and woke up thinking that I would have a nice easy trip up to Cape Canaveral Space Station and Cape Canaveral National Sea Shore. Instead I had the worst day of riding so far. I took about five or six wrong turns or dead ends while trying to get to Cape Canaveral Air Force Station only to be turned away at the gate. Not even my regular military ID could get me in here only a special high security pass would be the ticket in. I had to turn around and head all the way back to Cocoa Beach, the same place I was so many hours before. Rode across two long river bridges into Cocoa before heading back north again all the way to Titusville. Across the river again and into Merrit Island Wildlife Refuge for another night under the stars and a blanket of hungry mosquitoes.

After my quiet night on the refuge I rode a short distance up to Daytona Beach where I would eventually meet up with my cousin Andrews friend John and some of his friends and stay for the night. We all went out for a long night of drinking... way too much drinking. I ended up sleeping in till past noon and rushed to get back on the road again to Saint Augustine.

Yesterday I spent my half day ride along more beautiful unpopulated beaches and beach villages with little beach cottages. Ormond Beach, Flagler Beach, Palm Coast, and Summer Haven were all very beautiful. In Saint Augustine I stopped to see the St. Augustine Lighthouse and made it into the old city to meet up with Conrad the owner of the Piratehaus Hostel right downtown. I strolled the small cobblestone streets lined with old Spanish colonial houses and shops. Had a great slice of meatball pizza at Pizza Time then settled in for the night. My hostel bunk was comfy for a good nights sleep and in the morning had Pirate pancakes, delicious.

Now on to Georgia and Beyond!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th April 2007

Exciting!
But I guess we are beyond trips like that. So good to be able to keep up with you and all the places you visit. Have fun and be careful!
9th April 2007

Awesome
Hey Jared it sounds like youre doing great. To me it sounds like the time of a lifetime but I'm sure the days are long and like everything it probably has it's ups and downs. Hopefully your butt is calliced enough by now that climbing on the bike in the morning isn't bad. I'm looking forward to you reaching north carolina. Even Myrtle beach. Danielle and I would love to come out and ride with you for at least a couple hours of your journey. Let us know if you need anything for a resupply. Maybe we can bring you something to break the monotony. It's so good to keep up with you on your blog. I have actually been showing quite a few people. They all think your nuts but they think it's pretty cool what you're doing at the same time. Take it easy man and I hope to see you soon. Cimarron
11th April 2007

It's great to hear from you and your adventures. Don't let those mosquitos take too big a toll on you. Have fun and be safe. Love, Barb

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb