Jewels of the Ocala


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Silver Springs
February 25th 2012
Published: February 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Jewels of the Ocala



Between Daytona on the East coast and Ocala in Florida’s midsection lie the jewels of the Ocala National Forest – springs, warm springs that flow out of the earth at 72 degrees Fahrenheit. When you are lucky, like I was today, the air temperature is 85 degrees, making it almost perfect for snorkeling in the springs. Last year I tried one of the 4 jewels, Alexander Springs; this year I was determined to try the others,



Being a southern girl, I like warm water for swimming, so even water temps of 72 degrees is not warm enough. I learned that last year when it took me 45 minutes to ease myself into the spring. That year, my note-to-self was: “remember your mask and snorkel next time.” This year, not only did I remember my mask, I brought “the works” a full-body wet suit (thanks Diane), booties, flippers, mask, fins and snorkel.



In the last 2 days I have sought out 3 springs. I keep thinking that the weather is going to turn bad, but it hasn’t yet, and everyone I ask has a different opinion about the next day’s forecast! Snorkeling in fresh water is so fun! Skipping the Dry Tortugas and Biscayne National Park (Elliot Key) made me feel bad, but settling in to explore these springs was a perfect alternative.



A shout out to my dear friends Barbara and Randy, who took me in (again this year) and provided such wonderful shelter and entertainment. Carla and Francis took me in too. Dear friends along the way are wonderful way-stations for a solo traveler like me. Please note the names of the Roller Derby girls we saw last Saturday night in Miami: Mylie Virus, Kitten Not So Smitten, Fancy Shmancy, Nuke, Stookie Steakhouse, Pyro Mantic, Carnivorous Licks, Crash Register, Meow Mix, Tackle Me Elbow (a play on: Tickle Me Elmo). The coach’s name: Barely Human


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb