First full day at Myakka River


Advertisement
Published: January 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The day started with raindrops on the rooftop. I wanted to get up early (7:30) because there was a coffee and donut social that couldn’t be missed. The rain cleared in time to take Oscar for a walk and I even had time to throw the ingredients in my new crock pot for chili tonight. Off I went to the Log Cabin, coffee cup in hand. The local volunteers conduct this social weekly to help inform and make welcome the campers who stay at the park. It was a huge success and I ended up meeting a couple that have a daughter who lives in Scranton and teaches in the Pocono school district. Small world. I was able to get some tips on where to stay and things to do, not only here but further south when I need to book another week.

I stopped at the bridge on my way home and saw more gaters, black vultures and more lovely people who are spending the cold winter in FL.
Next stop was the canopy walkway. I couldn’t bring Oscar on this one so the time was now. I have to let the pictures tell the story. You had to walk up 7 flights of stairs then across the suspended bridge ( it swayed while walking on it) where you could get a view of the air plants and orchards, bugs, ants and moss. Then it was up another 7 flights to get an overview of the surrounding forest. This climb was very unnerving for me, going up and up as the wind was blowing the tower and the ground got further away. But it was worth it. Pictures..
I was at the same height as the birds and could see for miles. The tower is a very stable structure and anchored with cables to the ground imbedded in concrete. So I went outside my comfort zone and just did it!

I walked Oscar and we had lunch then it was time to meet the ranger at the bird walkway. There was an introduction to birding so I just couldn’t resist. The weather had deteriorated but wasn’t yet raining, just cool and windy. Temp was only 60.
We saw lots of different birds but not many as they don’t care for the weather either. We ended early as the sky darkened and I got back into the car just in time. A little ride down the road I saw some turkeys and 2 deer, felt like I was home again.
Got bach home about 4, turned on the heat, fed both of us and settled in to view a movie on tv. My new antenna continues to please me, but these stations seem to fade out in the evening.
It’s a hunker down night, with hope of a little clearing tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

strugglestruggle
struggle

He just couldn't seem to kill this fish enough. He kept stabbing it with his bill, then after about 15 min finally at it.
Reserection mossReserection moss
Reserection moss

After the rain you won't believe the difference


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.041s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb