Rainy day in the Sunshine State


Advertisement
Published: January 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I had a wonderful sleep last night and woke just before 7 to the sound of pitter-patter on the roof. Yes, it was raining, and cool too.
I had a very leisurely morning having coffee, watching tv and doing a little on the computer. I am having trouble today with the internet, my hot-spot isn’t getting a signal all the time, phone too. Hopefully it’s the cloud cover causing the problem.
I had a shower and froze my butt off. There is no heat in the shower room and because it was so cold today the air in the bathroom was about 50 degrees and the water isn’t hot enough to warm up the body. They adjust the showers so it is not possible to burn yourself and normally it’s ok, but NOT today.

After breakfast I decided that the only thing to do today was go shopping. I took Oscar in the car and we headed for Sarasota to an rv dealer. I had seen this dealer’s web site and they had an rv that looked really good for me. Well, it turned out that that particular motor home was in CA. They have dealerships all over the country and don’t tell you where it is on the site. Lucky for me, I dodged that bullet.
Then it was on to Panera Bread for lunch and Walmart.
I arrived back at the park about 4 and stopped here and there to see what critters were about. Not too many but an occasional treasure. The pictures are terrible because of the low light but they are still visible. One picture of the road shows the oak trees forming a tunnel, draped with Spanish Moss and now covered with live looking resurrection ferns. The ferns have come to life, literally overnight. There are before rain and after rain picture.

Tomorrow I’m looking forward to many activities with warmer temps and no rain. There is the air boat tour, the tram tour and a 5 mile hike to the deep hole.

Just a side note. One of the kids in the campground (about 6 yrs old) said to me, “Lady, how come somebody shrunk your motor home?” He sees only huge ones I guess.

I need to re-arrange the camper again, tonight’s the night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

oak tunneloak tunnel
oak tunnel

The little used northern road looks like a tunnel because of the growth of the old oaks and the spanish moss.


Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.1701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb