Happy Birthday Oscar


Advertisement
Published: March 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Oscar’s Birthday



While having my wonderful coffee this morning I got on the internet and there was a Happy Birthday wish for Oscar for Margie. I never remember his birthday, thanks Marg!

As a result I was a little kinder to him today. I took a nice long walk with him after it warmed up a bit and we found a bird heaven. We watched all the goings on for a short time and I just had to go home and get my good camera, telephoto lens, tri-pod and water.

We got back to “our” spot and 3 other people were there so we had to share space. I would normally have left Oscar back at the camper but it was his birthday. He smelled around and finally just sat in the sun and listened to me ooh and ahh. It was about 10:30 am so the sun was high but still at an angle that made great lighting and the road was a little elevated so the birds were in full view, great stage. The tide was coming in so the small fish were in a wide stream that went into a marsh area. There were egrets, cow egrets, pelicans, cormorants, king fishers and a little duck I have to look up. The pelicans were standing in the water looking for fish and occasionally would jump up and then dart into the water with their heads. They sometimes fought with one another to get the best spot but then the duck came into the pool and I thought they would chase him out. But instead the duck, who hunted underwater, chased the fish toward the pelicans so everybody had a feast.

Then further into the marsh there were a group of all white birds, one great white egret and about 10 smaller cow egrets. It looked like a teacher had her school kids on a field trip. Pictures

I took 113 pictures, and finally had to make myself stop because my knee was killing me. In the mean time Oscar had somehow gotten himself into a patch of grass with pickers on them. These pickers are like little mines, round with spines all around them. They were about the size of a tomato seed, so very small but deadly. Poor guy had them all over him, took me about 10 min to get them all out. Happy Birthday!

We went home and he wanted in the house. So I put a little peanut butter in his bone, made myself something to eat and drink and packed for the beach. I wanted to sit in the sun and read my book. Dogs are not allowed on the beach.

The wind was blowing again by then and was chilly so I picked a spot near the dunes and put my back to the wind. It was fine for about an hour then I got cold, temp was about 64 but the sun was bright and strong with not a cloud in the sky.

Back at the camper, birthday boy was ready for more fun so we got in the car and drove to the nearest store about 5 miles away. I just wanted to investigate what was available and rent a movie for tonight. The movie choices were from the 80s and 90s but I was desperate.

Once home it was time for Oscar’s dinner and I sat by the camper in the sun and read my book til it got chilly again, Oscar on my lap.

I made my dinner and edited some of the bird pictures then went to the beach again for sunset. There was a cloud bank on the horizon so I had doubts about the event. As I sat in my chair waiting and watching I was joined by about 8 other people who came to enjoy the event. I talked to a woman from Ontario, nice time. Not so nice sunset. Pictures

I took Oscar around the campground for his final walk of the night and someone stopped and said happy birthday Oscar. It was the woman I was taking pictures of the birds with and talking to for an hour. Her name is Becky and she was taking pictures to paint them. Her husband had to go back to work about 5 hrs from here so she is alone til Fri so we may go out to dinner one night.

It is not supposed to be as cold tonight and a 30% chance of rain tomorrow so I better do outside things when I can tomorrow.

There are several activities I want to investigate on the internet, I’ll have to work around the weather.

I am adding a lot of pictures, I did edit them believe it or not. Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0383s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb