Travels with Snowbirds 2015 Wednesday February 18 New Orleans to Perry FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Perry
February 18th 2015
Published: February 19th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The one about my aching butt

It was sooooo cold at Lakefront Arena RV area last night. The wind howled again and Moya rocked. I set my alarm for 6:00, but was awake at 5:00. But, it’s central time, and I would end my day in eastern time, so it was really 6:00, but it was dark, and I won’t drive in the dark. Got that? The temperature was 31 degrees. That’s cold to be sleeping in a metal box.

I turned the furnace on, read for a bit, then got dressed, walked Winston and was on my way at first light, 6:15, but it was really 7:15. I set my clocks ahead to prepare for the change. My body actually never left eastern time even though I was away from it for almost 2 weeks.

I drove quickly thru LA, MS and AL, stopping every hour or so to do some jumping jacks and stretches. I knew early this was going to be a marathon day for me. The sun came out and was right in my face. I had to stop to put down my sun visors, I can’t reach them while driving. One good thing, the sun really warmed Moya and me up!

I have learned a trick with Winston. If I put one of his doggie beds right on the floor next to my seat, leaning up against the engine hump, he will sleep for several hours! Why did I not figure this out years ago! He will sleep until he hears Garmina talk to me, or he hears the turn signal go on. This is so much better than pacing! But, no matter when I leave the RV and leave him free to roam about or in his crate, he barks. And barks and barks and barks. I will let him free while I pump gas or while I do a quick Wal-Mart run, but that’s about it.

Speaking of Winston, I have found a Bedlington Terrier facebook page. Remember, Winston is 8 I have had him 4 years, and it has taken me this long to train him to sit when he sees his leash. This FB page originates in UK where “Beddies” are much more common. Many members are posting pictures of their multiple Beddies and baby puppies, and all are talking about how their dogs never sit down. They spin around a few times and lay down but very rarely sit. That’s Winston. One suggested because, ‘their ass is bony,’ which made me laugh….his is. They all have the ear poufs that I eliminate from his grooming, and they look cute. I might have to let his grow in just to try it, but it would mean daily brushing. He is sooooo dirty now, I will wash him as soon as I get back to the Orlando campground.

The western part of FL from Pensacola to Tallahassee seems endless. Long slow hills up, long slow hills down. I finished my audio book, Lincoln Child/The Third Gate, a perfect kind of supernatural suspense for a long ride. Next up, Game of Thrones. I am not sure how it’s going to work out, though, the reader’s voice is that of an old man, kind of raspy, and I miss some words. I had to restart it several times just to get all those strange names straight in my head. Before I start tomorrow, I am going to try to adjust the bass/treble settings to see I I can make it friendlier to my ears.

I tried a patty melt from WhatABurger for lunch, I don’t think I have ever eaten there before. Toast, 2 burgers, special spicy Russian Dressing sauce, Monterey jack cheese, sautéed onions. I think there might have been a few too many onions. Good as they were, I still taste them.

My goal for the day was to make it to Tallahassee. I was disappointed that I10 goes around the town, so I never saw any bit of the state capitol! I couldn’t tell you if there was even a town there! I had 3 hours until dark; I decided to keep driving but my butt was hurting. So, every 60 miles I stopped, jumped up and down, stretched my back, arms, and legs, and repeated the cycle. When I looked at my All-Stays RV app, there is NOTHING in this part of the state. There are NO Wal-marts. There are no Pilot/Flying Js. There are no campgrounds right off I10. So, I kept going. I set my sights on Perry, FL, a teeny tiny little town with a Wal-Mart. 438 miles driven today. That’s an all time record for driving the RV. I walked Winston up and down the parking lot. There are at least 10 other rigs here, I guess they had the same problem I did, lack of campground, or are just cheap. Take your pick.

I made a donation at Wal-Mart, buying milk, apple turnovers, and probiotics. I turned my generator on, took a shower, ate Progresso soup and an apple turnover with a gigantic glass of cold milk, and now I am sitting at my dinette watching The Mentalist and my butt still hurts. Time to go to sleep and repeat this day tomorrow, but I only have 180 miles to go. A breeze. My butt won’t have time to get sore



Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb