Native American Festival


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Ormond Beach
March 20th 2015
Published: March 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

blog 03-20-15 Native American Festival



It's moving day today. I got a lot of small chores done yesterday so I was ready to head out by 10:30 am. I took the camper to the dump station and found noone there, I was thrilled.



After that chore was done I went back to my campsite, lined the camper up on the side road and pulled the car behind and hooked up. Off I went to the new campground just 6 miles down the road. I booked this extra night here so I could go to the Native American Festival (NAF) in Ormond Beach, no room at the state park. I am in an Encore Resort along RT 1 just north of Ormond Beach. The site I have is convient but sure lacks charactor and charm. I am backed up to the restroom complete with laundry. Out in the hot sun, with my neighbor 2 ft away. Oh, the state parks spoiled me.



I walked Oscar, gave him food to his surprise and headed off to pick up Joan and Joanne at the state park. We were at the NAF in 20 min and became absorbed in an Indian telling stories and legends. I love the way the native americans speak, with a sing-songy tone and warmth in their voices. I feel at home with them and their way of life, love hearing about all the different tribes and customs.



We headed to the food section and all made our decisions of the goodies they had to offer. I chose an Indian taco which was a fried piece of dough with taco stuffing. Joan and Joanne had Buffalo burgers and loved them. While we were eating the dancers performed for us complete with story teller and 4 drummers.



When the dancers finished were went shopping. There were many venders from all over and it was fun seeing what they had to offer. I bought a container of honey and a long sleeve shirt with a turtle embroded on the back, the turtle representing Mother Earth.



We sat and listened to another man talk about the Indians in FL. I took a close-up of his jewlery, I'll explain in the photo.



Then it was time for dinner and I tried a gator kabob. It was very tasty, didn't taste like chicken, had it's own flavor but I thought very rich. We moved to the dance arena and the Aztec dancers were about to begin. They wore very elaborate costumes and their athletic ability was outstanding. There was a fire dance that was particularly energenic and a little nerve racking with those feathers so close to the flames.



By then it was time to head out, take Joan and Joanne back to the park and head to my new home to get Oscar out and walked.



It was a fun packed day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

the very elaborate costumethe very elaborate costume
the very elaborate costume

the earrings were bear claws, the necklace was gator teeth, the head piece was feathers sewn together, a turkey bone holding it on. I especially liked his nose ring and the ruffles on his shirt.


Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.1272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb