Florida 2014: Orlando and Animal Kingdom Lodge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
September 9th 2014
Published: September 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I left my friends early the next morning while they left for work. Following their advice, I had planned to visit the Santa Fe College zoo and see some gators, but the drive there was high traffic flow due to classes starting. So, I next decided to try to find the State Geological Park, where there is a giant sinkhole I guess. However, it is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, and with the gate shut, there was little to do. So, I visited Walgreens for some munchies before making my way to Orlando. Since I had time to kill, I took the back road - the land between Gainesville and Ocala is beautiful with Spanish Moss and dozens of horse ranches.

After hitting Ocala, I decided to get back on the freeway. Then it was pretty smooth sailing back to Orlando, with dozens of giant billboards lining the way (the anti-abortion ones were a bit creepy...). I got back to the airport and drove my car right in and got my receipt - so easy! Then I made my way to the airport - note: The Disney Magical Express is in Terminal B. I didn't have my magic band yet as my mom did, but I went to the desk and they let me through. There are about eight lines / buses to take and I boarded mine. The bus is beautiful and so far, of course, the staff were incredibly friendly! I was at the last of three stops, getting to see the All Stars Pop resort and the Art of Animation Resort (which looks pretty cool actually).

The Animal Kingdom Lodge - Jambo House is incredible (like all Disney Resorts). I walked in the door and a friendly greeter asked me how he could help and took me straight to the desk. The woman who check me in was great and I was assigned a temporary magic band to access my room and hotel stuff. My two nephews were on my reservation, but I informed her it would just be me that night. "Oh, a whole night to yourself, huh? That must be nice!" Yes, yes it is.

I made my way to my room and looked out in astonishment. Giraffes, zebras, warthogs, etc right outside my window. I will say there is a bit of false advertising in that Disney shows giraffes right AT your
Downtown DisneyDowntown DisneyDowntown Disney

Stitch - Dad's favorite character
window, but they actually are limited by a small fortification. However, it was still amazing. My room was nice and easy access. I paid a little extra to get a room on the Arusha Savanna, but I don't know that it is any better than the other savanna view rooms except that it is guaranteed easy access from the main lodge. I was starving so I ordered room service, including a bottle of wine (the South African wines are my new favorite and this one was good!).

I wandered around the hotel that evening and morning, relaxing, doing some laundry, shopping.... I had biscuits and gravy for breakfast (thinking of you, Silvernomads!) - it was delicious. Then Tuesday afternoon my mom called and said they were checking in at Fort Wilderness, so I caught a bus to the Magic Kingdom and took the boat to the campground. It's been about 15 years since I last visited, but we had gone to Disney World, usually Fort Wilderness, almost every year since I can remember. So many things change, but most had stayed the same! (one of these was that the bus went to the Magic Kingdom and NOT the Ticket
Downtown DisneyDowntown DisneyDowntown Disney

the boys with granny
and Transportation Center).

As soon as I found the camper, I knocked and walked in and there were my little guys!!! Seeing the first one, G, was funny because I though how small he was! Then Emry ran up behind him and he looked even tinier! G stands for "Giant"! G is only 4 and Emry is 3, but the difference between them is hilarious. G was a quiet sweetheart, who did his best to be good to Emry while Emry is a mischievous little bugger! He was so cute the whole time and my little cuddle buddy. G is like a boy - he was always trying to do things on his own. God, I miss these guys so much...

We went to dinner at the Rainforest Cafe in Downtown Disney, which was quite nice and the boys liked it. Then we headed to the shop to get G's sister a princess dress; she wanted Frozen, but there is a limited supply which is only for the girls who also do the makeover. Instead we got her Ariel's dress. When we came back out, it was a torrential downpour. So I picked up Emry and we all
Biscuits and GravyBiscuits and GravyBiscuits and Gravy

For you silver nomads!
ran to the bus stop. I still love the rain and so far it has been raining at least once a day.

I took the boys to my hotel and they seemed to like it. They especially liked running up and down the halls and the bunk beds. I had to put them to bed right away though as the next day was the Magic Kingdom with an early appointment for a pirate makeover.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Disney's Magical ExpressDisney's Magical Express
Disney's Magical Express

Complimentary bus rides to the resorts - very nice
Animal Kingdom LodgeAnimal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Lodge

Flamingos... not my favorite birds.... I think they're creepy
Animal Kingdom LodgeAnimal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Lodge

Spoonbill duck
Animal Kingdom LodgeAnimal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Lodge

Roan Antelope?
Animal Kingdom LodgeAnimal Kingdom Lodge
Animal Kingdom Lodge

View from my window!
Lucy!Lucy!
Lucy!

Miss my pup


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb