Moving Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Orlando
February 10th 2013
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Moving



Sunday was moving day. There was a joint breakfast at 8 am and most rally attendees were packed and ready to roll. We all said our good-bys and scattered like flies. 23 campers disappeared within ½ hour, except Kat and I. We took the dogs to the dog park where they played with a few other dogs. I can’t believe how Oscar has changed while camping. He has learned that all other dogs are not out to eat him and their owners can be friends too. He ran all around the park with a really cute little black, fluffy dog who just wanted to have fun. There are no big dogs in this campground so all the dogs he encounters are his size and usually very friendly. He has strutted his stuff with all the cuties here and just can’t wait to play more.

Kat and I were on the road by 10:40 and we had only an hour to our next park.

We arrived at Thousand Trails Orlando in Clermont, FL about 11:50 to find a long line of check-ins. This park’s policy is that you look on a magnetic board to see what sites are open, choose one, and register. Kat has been here before so she was telling me what sites are good and which one’s to avoid. She thought I would like the “woods” section which is farther away from the activities but closer to nature. I picked a spot from the board, registered and crossed my fingers that it was a good site as we will be here 14 days. There are over 800 sites so one can get easily lost and definitely confused as to our whereabouts.

I found my site and backed in, connected the electric and stood back to look it over. It looked drab and isolated to me, but I usually don’t like a campsite when I first get there, it has to grow on me to feel like home. I then took Oscar, in 83 degree heat, to walk back to get the car. I had disconnected it at the welcome center and left it in the parking lot as I knew this was a flat and level place, doing it at the campsite would block the road and I didn’t know if it was flat or not.

It took about 15 min to walk back and poor Oscar was pretty hot by then. I found Kat’s site on my way home so I could get the lay of the land. Back in the woods I proceeded to get most of my things out and turn on the air conditioner.

Ginnie has been here for a week and was a darling and had dinner ready for us so we didn’t have to cook on moving day.

We had a coctail then a great dinner on a real picnic table. Most campgrounds have picnic tables but not the Thousand Trails in Wauchula, then at the rally we were in a field with no tables so this is a treat.

Again, I was really tired so I drove Kat home and I went to my rig and just collapsed.

Good Night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 96; dbt: 0.1592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb