Ground Hog Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Naples
February 2nd 2014
Published: February 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


What a day it was. The sun was shinning, it was ground hog day, super bowl Sunday, and moving day. It was time to leave Myakka River and I wasn’t ready to go. I loved my campsite, loved the park and the weather was improving but ………….

So I packed up most of my stuff early then took Oscar for a ride/walk to all our favorite haunts to see how different they looked in the sunshine. First we hit the lake, realized I didn’t get a picture of that, and there was a flock of white pelicans flying all around just begging me to snap their picture. Well I did, only one problem, my lens was all fogged up. I had put on the air conditioner in the camper and the camera was there, then I went out into the humidity and instant fog. I was kicking myself but it was done. After the clearing I did get a few shots and one of an eagle too. Then we went to the dam, but not much was happening there so I stopped in the visitors center because I hadn’t yet. There on a tree sat a red-shoulder hawk just posing for me in the morning light..Thank you.

It was getting late so we headed back to the camper and by the time I hooked up the car, took the garbage to the dumpster, and dumped the holding tanks it was 12:50pm, check-out time is 1pm. Just made it.

It was an effortless 2 ½ hr trip to Collier-Seminole State Park with a stop for groceries on the way. I found my site and was not thrilled with the park. It is crowded with little room between campers and no vegetation buffer, but the restroom is close. I met my neighbors and settled in. I wanted to see the super bowl so I ran the channel search on the tv and got 4 channels. One is NBC who knows what the other one is and the last 2 are religious stations. What to do about super bowl? I talked to the lady that is the campground host and she invited me to her camper to see the game, how sweet! I went with lots of goodies and watched the 2nd and 3rd quarters and came back home. What a disappointment

There are some pictures here of things I forgot to include from Myakka Lake and one photo from here. Sure hope the place looks better tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb