Mt Dora


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Mount Dora
February 7th 2013
Published: February 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Discovering Mt Dora



The group was meeting for breakfast at 8 am, why I couldn’t tell you. So Oscar had an early walk, I had one cup and coffee and took my 2nd to the meeting room. There were all kinds of goodies, banana nut bread, bagels, coffee cake and buns. We all talked some more and I got more ideas for places to visit.

I took Oscar for a longer walk and by then Kat and I were ready to go to see what Mt Dora had to offer. It was about a 20 min ride and we found a parking place on the street and starting exploring. There were blocks of little shops, some with home made crafts, some with antiques, little wall hanging and all kinds of interesting things. We walked all around town and bought nothing but had a good time.

Mt Dora is really a mountain by Florida standards. There are rolling hills in this part of the state and quite a hill to get to Mt Dora. There is also a big lake at the edge of town, a real pretty area.

Kat and I stopped at the grocery store, and then the vegetable stand along the road. It was a drive thru stand, just tell the man what you wanted and he brings it to your car. Retirement living!

When we got back I cooked 2 ears of corn and had a salad for lunch. Delicious. A little rest then I just had to wash poor Pennelope. It took well over an hour but boy what a difference. I just got back in time to pour a drink and only be 10 min late for cocktail hour. We sat outside and by now there were 25 of us enjoying snacks and laughter.

About an hour later it started to rain so we all headed for out campers.

Tonight’s dinner is pot luck, everybody makes something and we all share. It was a great assortment and we all ate too much.

I was exhausted so went back to the camper to discover that it had poured rain while we had dinner. There were puddles everywhere.

I had to close the windows and the hatch but the rain cooled us off quite a bit. It was 84 today and I was glad to get wet when washing the van. This is the first good rain we have had in 2 weeks so it was welcome.

I settled in for the night, and will get 2 days of blog done tonight


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0957s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb