no break day today


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Milton
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is Sunday and we have plans to take it off. I stayed up later last night, 10:15. When we got up Sam was on the internet and realized the outside temp last night was 19'. This is a new record low for the area. He also discovered the rain possibility for Tuesday has moved from 40% to 90%. We had a pow-wow and decided it was too far to ride to Milton after church and make it before dark. We changed our plans and started out early and we will take our break on Tuesday while it is raining. When we took off no one was riding that strong because we mentally had a day off in our heads and it was tough to ride. The weather was clear and it warmed up real fast. It was a great day for riding. We reached Holt at 11:40 and was asking where we could get a bite to eat. We were directed to a local diner. I suggested we scoot along and beat the church crowd there. This diner had a buffet of homemade food, chicken and dumplings and home made peach cobbler. WOW😊 When we left we got off the well traveled road to a back route. The pace was much slower. The others were well in front of me so when I crossed this bridge I stopped and took some pictures. I also noticed this path and decided since I am on vacation I would go exploring. I discovered this bend in the stream with white sand beach and jade water. The water was so clear you could see the bottom of the stream. It was obvious people have camped there before. If the temp wasn't getting so cold tonight this would have been a wonderful place to camp, it is supposed to get to 25'. The last 10 miles into Milton was a bike trail. This is the third trail we have ridden on and they are great. Since this was Sunday afternoon and it was warm out several families were out enjoying the trail. We arrived to town early enough that I took a quick shower and ate a quick bite at the waffle house and then went to church. This was the 1st Baptist Church and this was their contemporary service. I was allowed to play my dulcimer and I had a wonderful time. We rode 37 miles but it felt like 57 miles. Tomorrow we have a short day and should arrive in Pensacola by noon. This means we have a day and half off. YEA! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb