Miami – It keeps me Alive!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
February 22nd 2013
Published: February 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

They say it takes seconds for a person to fall in love! It happened with me; it happened with me the moment I stepped in to the Magic City, as they call it! Miami, the city that is always breathing, happening and alive, showed me what life was all about.

The incident dates a couple of years back. A few of my friends and me arrived at this beautiful city for a vacation. A vacation that was exciting for all, but was an attitude-altering experience for me! Initially hesitant though, I agreed to set out for this trip mainly to forget my past. I needed a change, a big change to be precise. I wanted to move away from the city I lived, as every street and every avenue I crossed, it reminded me of her. My wife, a strong woman who unfortunately gave in to a lethal disease! Ok, inclining away from the sorrow, I decided to go away from the city (at least for a while) and make up my mind to live without her.

As guys on a vacation do, we boozed, hit the beach, partied and experienced almost everything the city had to offer. But I chose to remain isolated, as I was already on a high. An altitude so high that the even booze would fail to deliver! I chose to take an alternate route. I decided to spend some time with nature and made up my mind to witness the sunrise. I once read a book that stated the sight of the rising sun was one of the most fascinating things to experience on earth. I reached early to the spot, before the dawn. The sky was still dark and I chose a pleasant place for myself on those divine sands, and rested. The time seemed to slow down, and for the next nine minutes it was just me, the sun, the waters and the horizon! Peace of mind gradually dawned into me, just like the rising sun that emerged out from the horizon. I realized this was it! This will be the place I’m going to earn my bread and make a living. I was determined!

I reached back to the city I lived with my friends, made all the necessary arrangements I had to do like quitting my job, approaching those moving companies to make my shift and bid a farewell to my friends. The day to make a move had come and I, after saving my wife’s photo in my wallet embarked. And now here I’m in Miami, the city that keeps my alive and realize my every breathe, leading a better and a peaceful life.

Vacations need not be always fun, it could be life-altering too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb