Miami !!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
June 6th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last day in NYC was pretty quiet, did a little shopping and picked up a few bits and pieces for my old man. Tried to find a pair of black leather boots along 5th Ave and didn't find anything at all. Actually made my up to 72nd street in the Upper West Side and found Gray's Papaya which is the hotdog shop that Anthony Bourdain recommends for a late night eat. It was $4.50 for 2 small hotdogs with a decent sized papaya drink which was actually very refreshing. That was my highlight for the day in NYC.

I was to fly in Miami at 1pm Monday and got the hotel to organise a town car pickup to take me to JFK. I wasn't willing to catch the subway all the way out to JFK with my 2 bags nor did I want to sit in a taxi and watch the meter creep up in NY traffic. So a $60 fixed rate car by myself seemed like a good idea and it was especially when you have a good driver with decent conversational skills.

I expected JFK to be busy as it was a Monday morning but the
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

that mustve been an ancient plane?? overheard tube tvs???
AA terminal was eerily quiet. There was virtually nobody at this new and mammoth terminal. Even the security line had nobody in it so I was through security and killing time a lot sooner than I expected. Flight to Miami was extremely smooth and we landed without even circling. A short taxi ride later I was on South Beach Miami and it was hot and muggy!

South Beach is certainly a good time town with bars, clubs and money everywhere. Expensive cars were all over the place as were large cocktail glasses. I was getting nervous looking at those glasses and decided to start with a small glass and just ended up having too many smaller drinks anyway. I had dinner at a seafood cafe near my hotel on Ocean Drive before going for a walk down this strip and then returning to my hotel for drinks at the bar which ended up being a cool night hanging with fellow travelers and a charismatic barman. Funny thing was, I didnt even make it onto the sand today! Maybe tomorrow?


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb