Miami is freezing!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami
February 18th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post



So I arrived in Miami to spend one night on my way to carribean islands... My surfer, Aljandro didn’t answer the phone when I called from the airport so I was a little worried. Luckily I had another number for another surfer, Andrew.

Andrew, an American, saved my butt. After a long bus ride, carrying my 60 plus lbs of gear, Andrew picked me up from a strip mall on the corner of something and something. Luckily a nice girl on the corner let me use her cell to call him.

Miami was FREEZING and way less convenient them my SWEET Colombia - god how I would miss that heavenly place...

Andrew was formal and nice, we had some tea, pizza, exchanged stories, and went to bed. He had to work the next day so i went downtown to have lunch with Alejandro, a Colombian living in the US 8 years for work. Alejandro was super nice and treated me to a delicious lunch in south beach. I took the train back to pick up my gear and then the bus to the airport.

By the time I got to counter I only had 55 minutes left and the sweet hp girl at the counter refused to check my bags. Ahhh... good old north American hospitality- this would never happen in south America, a place where people actually give a damn about other people.

So I missed my flight- I was so upset, only because I didn’t want to spend one more minute in Miami- and my csers were waiting in the carribean for me- we were going to have fun, in the warm sun...

Desperate I called Alejandro. He was not going to be home that night but told me I could stay in his awesome condo for the night, he would leave the door open, and I could use his bed and everything. Thank you!!

After an hour of trying on sunglases in sunglass hut I took a shuttle over to the condo. Some of Alejandro’s friends were home. They were nice but we didn’t interact much.

I had a super hot shower in his giant bathroom - ahhhh so nice. Checked my internet while the boys said goodbye. Alejandro’s place overlooked the Miami bay and was gorgeous. Pooped I hit the sack - the bed was big, soft, so good, and the sheets were so warm and smooth... Luxury...

Early morning, back to the airport- yay. (tired, hungry, and out of money).

Carribean, here I come!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.5kb