Miami


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Miami Beach
November 20th 2008
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: m1 12 secs
Miami,

My camera was giving me problems so I only took a few pics on this visit.
It definitely feels like I haven’t left Latin America when I arrived to Miami. The people and culture is mostly Cuban and when you arrive at the airport, people working there will speak to you in Spanish, especially if you look Hispanic. They will assume that you speak it, and it’s actually one of the complaints that my friend, Sabastian, had living there. I decided to visit him on my way back from Belize. It was nice to catch up. Miami can offer you a lot: the Spanish culture, the music, a great beach and warm weather (if you like the sun), but the city can be also be superficial. All in all, it’s a place that you must visit to get to know better the Cuban people and their culture because since we (Americans) are not allowed to go to Cuba, it’s the closest you’re going to get to Cuba.

Journal entry:

Went out last night with my friend Sebastian (Tile) in South Beach. This place is very lively at night. The people are beautiful here and very hispanic from what I can tell. You’re almost forced to speak in Spanish if they know you can…We went to Ocean Drive and it started to rain so we went to a bar for a while. We got to know the waitresses there, and surprisingly they were all from Latin America: Peru, Ecuador, and Colombia. We had some food afterwards and called it a night…Another day in Miami, went to the beach and had a good day there. My favorite part of the day was going to this restaurant/club called Mambo where I saw the best entertainment that a restaurant can offer. As I ate my food, I saw a dance performance that was amazing. I filmed a bit, but I wish I could record more. They danced the whole time I was there, different dancers and different music, it’s definitely worth checking out if you’re in town. The rest of the day I hung out with Sebastian to catch up on what he’s been doing since he’s lived in Miami. I met his roommates and they were nice. Most of them were working so we didn’t really get to hang out. Next time.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb