fishing day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Long Key
March 20th 2014
Published: March 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

The alarm went off at 6:30 and jolted me out of a really deep sleep. I had to get ready to go fishing. Today was the day for real that it was going to happen. The Tuesday trip was cancelled because of rain and high winds but today is calm and promises to be 77 degrees.

I arrived at the boat on time to see a line-up waiting to register. A beautiful day brings out the crowds so good for the ship owners. My seat was up front and I was happy for that so I didn't have to breath the exhaust of the engins. We were given a pole already rigged and a small pail of bait that 2 people shared and instructions on how to operate the rod and reel. So when the engine was turned off you could put your line in the water. Some people were stuck on the bottom, some were tangled with another line but for the most part it was trouble free and enjoyable. If you caught a fish you were to hollor , "fish on" and one of the mates would come and get the fish off for you and put the fish on ice for you. I caught a total of 6 fish but only kept one, a trigger fish somebody said was very good eating. Most of the fish caught were grunts, just a small sunfish looking fish but some others kinds were caught too. I got a romorah, a fish that attaches itself to sharks and the like. The mate showed me it's underside where it sucks on to another fish, very interesting. picture

Rather than wait in line to have my fish filleted there I brought it home and did it myself. There were 2 nice fillets waiting for me for dinner.

Oscar and I then went down to the water to sit and read my book. It didn't take long til I was watching the inside of my eyelids. After about an hour or so I headed inside to try to make a reservation for a campground on the way home. Not having much luck, it's a Saturday night and a lot of people camp here on weekends.

Then it was Oscar's turn to have a fun time so we drove to the beach that allows dogs and he ran and smelled and dug holes. He was a happy camper.

Back home I cooked my fish for dinner and enjoyed every bite.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb