Kayak Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Long Key
March 19th 2014
Published: March 20th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It was a very calm day so I was sure the kayak trip was on. I was at the Ranger Station at the designated hour to be told the trip was cancelled because 2 Rangers called in sick and they couldn't run it. I decided to go anyway so I rented a kayak and started out. First I went around the beach area, then past the grassy picnic area and on into uncharted waters, for me anyway. I went between 2 islands expecting to see many birds but I didn't. Don't know what happened to them. I found the little channel that connects the 2 water-ways and went into a tunnel of mangrove. It was really neat being in there, winding your way through, then under the bridge. You had to be careful not to get your paddle tangled or your kayak entwined in the branches and roots. Once out, the water opened up into a large bay and back to the boat launch. The whole trip took almost 2 hrs and was very enjoyable especially since there was little wind.

I resqued Oscar from the camper and we went to the picnic area and I read my book for a while. Then I thought I better find the laundrmat and do some wash. So I loaded it all up in the car, and the dog, and off we went 20 miles to the nearest laundry. I am happy to say the place was beautiful and in no time I was done and we were going back home. The ride was beautiful looking at all of the colors that the ocean is down here. It is very busy on US 1 all along the route so I was very happy to turn the corner into the park. It's immediately quiet and slow paced.

I took Oscar for a walk then settled in for the night as the bugs were really hungry tonight. The tide is extremely low this evening, I have to ask somebody why.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 94; dbt: 0.1377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb