Travels with Snowbirds Tuesday February 3, 2015 Clermont to Grand Oaks RV Resort Lady Lake, FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Lady Lake
February 3rd 2015
Published: February 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

The one about nothing other than catching up

I forgot to write about a reunion event that was too funny to not write about.

As my classmates and I were getting together to pose in the Wilderness Lodge lobby for our “class picture,” I heard something hit the floor. I looked down and couldn’t see anything, then rubbed my eye because I really couldn’t see anything. I looked up and REALLY COULDN’T SEE ANYTHING. I took my glasses off to clean them, and that’s when I realized what hit the floor was my lens. I couldn’t find it….I couldn’t see. I closed one eye, I couldn’t see. I shouted “DON’T MOVE!” and I think everyone jumped like there was a snake nearby. I saw a glint on the floor and picked up my lens. Of course, I couldn’t see if the screw had fallen out of the frames, but a classmate told me it did. I put the lens in the pocket of my flannel shirt and closed my left eye, and finished saying goodbyes.

Linda and Kai were so wonderful to pick me up at the campground, and stepped right up and told me they would take me to an eye glass store to get the glasses repaired. I MapGoogled ‘vision center’ and came up with, of course, Walmart and Target. Target came first on the way back to the campground, so we opted for there. They had the vision center well hidden in the front of the store, laugh, and once I found it I was greeted by the cheeriest man, who, all the time laughing and smiling, put a screw in, tightened the right screw, cleaned both lenses, and told me to have a good day. Free! No money!. I was flabbergasted, but when you think about it, what great customer service. Look how many people I am telling about how good Target took care of my small problem with a great big smile. It was an awesome experience.

The days at Thousand Trails Clermont kind of all blurred together. Nice lazy days. Bike ride and exercise in the morning, shower, a small chore with the girls that took us out of the park, General Hospital, Happy Hour, dinner, bed. Throw in listening to audiobooks, crocheting, walking Winston, and gossiping about nearby campers, you know, old lady stuff.

We went to SeaWorld a total of 3 times last week!! Sunday we went for just a few hours. Bindi Irwin (Crocodile Steve’s 16 year old daughter who looks just like him) has a road show encouraging kids to “Think Green”. It was a very simple show, easy to understand language, telling the kids to turn off the lights, and clean up ocean/lake/river pollution. We went to see the very tiny baby manatee that has gained 100 pounds since it was rescued due to cold water burns just a few weeks ago. They bottle feed it. Adorable. We watched the Orca show at Shamu stadium. There is no Shamu anymore, dead many years. Trainers do not get in the water with the orca any more and all the girls wear their hair in a bun. We were sitting in the 10th row, and we almost got wet from the tail splashing efforts of one of the big guys.

Kathy and I went to the movies. We drove 25 miles to I swear the only theatre in the state that was showing WILD. An interesting story, and caused several interesting conversations with Kathy at our dinner at Steak n Shake – a deliciously greasy Patty Melt with shoestring fries and iced tea. Satisfied the urge for grease. Have any of you seen WILD? Kathy pointed out an interesting line from the movie, Reese Witherspoon/Cheryl Strayed said she had not ever driven her own truck, or something along that line. That gave Kathy pause for thought, as she is a reasonably new widow and has so thoroughly enjoyed her solo camping adventures, something she had never been able to do in her married life. She has never really been in charge of her destiny as she is now, and is finally really becoming comfortable with it. I have been driving my own truck of life for a long time. Sometimes I had 3 large suitcases as baggage, but I drove. Me. Myself. Kind of a nice feeling. Now that I truly am driving my (RV) truck, it really does feel good. I have been very fortunate in what I have been able to accomplish by myself, and the places I have been, the things I have done, the people I have met. While I have never walked 1000 miles, and, lordy, lordy, I don’t have the desire to even take that first step, but I have spent hours on the road pondering important thoughts and being at peace with myself. Going to Mardi Gras has been on my bucket list for a long time. My bucket list will soon be pretty empty. I am not sure I like that. I need to ponder some more and put a few drops in it when I get some new ideas.

I said farewell to my camping girlies, Ginnie, Kathy and Kim this morning. Kathy leaves tomorrow to spend camping time checking out some of Florida’s beautiful state parks. She likes the whole nature thing……the quiet time, the animals, the water………She takes some beautiful pictures. Kim and Ginnie will stay put at Thousand Trails untio spring, and I will join them again in 2 weeks. Thanks for joining us at our crowded campground for 2 weeks, Kathy, We will miss you, but have a good time and keep looking for a new RV.

My first stop was gas. I am happy I didn’t fill up 2 weeks ago as gas dropped almost $.15 in that two weeks, but went up from $1.929 to $2.099 while I was pumping it this morning. I swear. When I pulled into the Kangaroo, right across the street from the campground entrance and where my Gas Buddy app told me was the cheapest anywhere, the sign said $1.929. While I was pumping (It takes a long time to pump 80 gallons) I watched a worker change the numbers on the sign on the street sign to $2.099. I checked the meter on my pump, it was pumping at $1.929. The pump cut off at $100. I started to begin another transaction, went to select regular, and the price was now $2.099. a $.17 increase!!!! I cancelled the transaction, I just couldn’t do it.

Next stop the biggest Dollar Store/Tree/General I could find and I know each small town in FL has one. I bought a jar of grape jelly, paper towels, Valentine socks for Hudson (which are way to big, it’s the thought that count, he can wear them as leggings) and a whole lot of Mardi Gras decorations. $9.33 (9 items @ $1 each plus tax) Next stop Fresh Market in The Villages. I forgot it was Tuesday. Fresh Market does this $2.99 per pound ground beef and chicken breast special. The parking lot was so crowded I couldn’t get the RV in. I parked at Olive Garden, across the side street. Good thing I didn’t want or need ground beef or chicken breasts. The line was very long. I did get sushi, dumplings, onion rolls, olives, heirloom tomatoes, yadda yadda yadda. I will eat well and lot of fresh stuff for the next few days.

Speaking of food, on my trip to Walmart last week, I picked up a bag of Red Velvet Oreos. I love shopping at Walmart around the holidays – they have such unusual food items, and Valentine’s day is no exception. The Red Velvet Oreos are truly a deep red, and the cream cheese filling was great. They are a limited edition, so try them if you see them.

Grand Oaks RV Resort was just a short ride away. This is a 450 acre Equestrian Center with guest cabins, campsites, a bed and breakfast, Bistro restaurant and pasture after corral, after show ring, after dressage course, yadda yadda. I saw Arabians, Clydesdales (named Bud and Wiser….yes, truly) and I was told there is a small donkey with long ears with curls. There are 40 campsites, 15 are held for the Dixie Low chapter of Loners on Wheels rally I am attending. The rally starts Wednesday, I came one day early as I couldn’t extend my time at Thousand Trails any more. The club chapter president and wagonmaster, was here already and he told me to take any site I wanted, so I took a nice long, brand new, pull thru with a concrete slab and a brand new picnic table. It is gorgeous. It is out in the open, no trees, but given the cold weather forecasted for the next few days, I will take any opportunity to get all the sun I can. First thing I did after hooking up my utility lines was unloading the bicycle and take Winston for a ride. He did not like the horses and barked whenever he saw one. 450 acres will be a lot to explore on my bicycle, as the terrain is long gentle hills, which are great going down, but difficult for me to ride back up. But, I’ll give it a try. The 16 inch wheels make it tough, too - lots of pedaling. I will just take my time and rest a lot. I take a drug that keeps my heart rate low. It sure does work, and when I need my heart rate to go up, it doesn’t, and I must stop and let it recover before I can continue. On flat ground I can bike for a long time, but on these hills I will have to stop.

So, my boring days continue, I hope someone attends who has a car and will take me with them if/when they go do chores. I am here until Sunday morning. If I have to stay in my campsite, Moya will be the cleanest RV inside and out and the pink baby blanket I am almost done with will be completed. Ugh. 11:00 news weather report. Heavy rain showers Wednesday and Thursday. Ugh. Glad I am sitting on a slab. Might have to rethink that bike ride.



Kat out

Advertisement



5th February 2015

Laughing
I am laughing my ass off. I just wrote that I went with Ginnie to the movie. OMG, I am so in trouble. My mind is mush, sorry...

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb