Hoping to move tomorrow


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Marathon
April 1st 2010
Published: April 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Getting ready to move. Hopefully tomorrow or Sat morning. Winds may be a litle too hard for tomorrow, 15 to 25 out of the east. That will mean rough seas and an unprotected anchorage. May need to go inside like I did when iIcame down and go through Biscayne Bay again. I really do not want to run my prop that much because I found out that my cutlass bearing is a little loose. I hope it makes it back to Va. I renewed my unlimited tow with tow US yesterday so all I have to do is give them a call.

I have spent about five hours under the boat over the last few days. What a little aquarium that was. I think there were things on the bottom of my dinghy that they have not even named yet. It was filled with these little clear sacks that squirted liquid out when I tried to scrape it. I finally used the baddle as a scraper and sotod back from it. I took two days with snorkle gear for about two hours per side. Today I put on the scuba tank and finished it off. It is spotless. I wish I could take someone under there to show them. I can run my hand over the whole bottom without a glove on. But it kicked my a--. I am beat. I did find a little wiggle in the shaft at the cutlass bearing though. I don't like that. Sure hope it makes it back to Va. I hate to haul it along the way.

Only thing left to do is top off the water tank and get Desiree and Suzie aboard. They are coming by bus tomorrow. We have a car at the Miami airport and plan on picking it up on Wed. Then going to get Paul when he comes in on Fri.

Boats are finally beginning to leave the harbor. The next few days has wind coming from the east. That is the longest wind change since Dec. It has been pegged to the north for three months. People in the Bahamas are beggining to move also. I heard form our friends EX Breezes, the couple I met in Vero Beach, and they are heading up the Bahamas and plan on crossing to Ft Pierce in a few weeks. I don't think they ever made it to the Exumas this year. They spent the winter in Andros. I heard it blew like stink in the Bahamas all winter. Maybe I am glad I came to the Keys.

Maybe next time I write I will be in Miami again heading to south beach.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb