First Night


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys » Key Largo
June 22nd 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Snow CrabSnow CrabSnow Crab

How far away from Key Largo can my food come?
We are getting ready to turn in for the evening as we are to meet the group at 7am to make our way to the dock. Weather permitting we are scheduled for two dives tomorrow morning. I'm not sure just where yet, but anywhere would be fine.
I have attached two picks of our dinner. We ate at Ballyhoo's this evening which is a very nice very small seafood restaurant that is popular with the locals. Karen and I both had dishes based on red snapper. Katy on the other hand decided, as is pictured, to have a meal from the farthest place possible away from Key Largo so she had snow crabs from Alaska. I must admit though that they were very good. I must give a special nod to the jalapeno corn bread muffins. They were by far the best corn bread muffins I have ever had. I expected a spicy taste, but was pleasantly surprised to find the taste very sweet with only a touch of spice tang. The entrees were also very good but noticeably not salty. I commented to the waitress, who was also very good, that the chef must have lost his salt
Key Lime PieKey Lime PieKey Lime Pie

Attractive, yet not quite as tasty as it looks.
shaker. She commented that they hardly use any salt at all. It was a nice change of pace.
The second picture I attached was the beginning of Karen's self assigned mission to find the best key lime pie in all of Key Largo. This slice while very attractive only received a 6 out of 10 due to being a little tart.
Well I'd better close for now. Hopefully tomorrow I'll have actual pictures of diving!
- Happy Diving

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb