Polar Express hits Florida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Jacksonville
January 2nd 2008
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from Sunny Florida (ok it’s nighttime when I’m entering this so it’s not sunny at the moment, but it was earlier today).

It may be clear down here, but I sure brought the Polar Express with me! The forecast low for tonight in Jacksonville is 16. Yes you read that correctly - a balmy 16. It’s only forecast to be two degrees colder back home in Asheville. But it was 44 today vs. 23 for the high in the mountains with some snow.

I did make the decision to depart a day early and glad I went that route. Based on a conversation with my cousin and next door neighbor tonight, I’d probably still be sitting in my house waiting for the roads to clear enough to safely maneuver a 31’ motor home with a Jeep attached to the back!!!

I left in the afternoon on Jan 1st and drove to Columbia, SC. It was blustery there - so windy that several times during the night I was awakened by the wind rocking the RV!!!

Today I drove about 280 miles and I’m just northwest of Jacksonville near Callahan, FL.

Thursday is a short drive of 200 miles down to Tampa. I’m looking forward to getting down there and getting settled in for my photography convention.

I find it quite ironic how the weather is beginning for my first trip of 2008. This time last year, I was on my way to San Antonio, TX for the same photo convention (think it was about a week later in January). At any rate, I arrived in San Antonio just before a major ice storm hit southern Texas.

Fast forward one year and here I am in Florida with record low temperatures forecast for tonight and most of the state under a freeze or frost warning.

The good news is temperatures will be moderating in the coming days and be back to seasonal (in the 70s) by the weekend.

Thanks for checking in. No photos to share thus far.

Stay warm and safe wherever you may be. I heard on the radio today that at 7 am Thursday morning, it will be below freezing in parts of 49 of the 50 states (guess Hawaii is warm!).

Bruce and Chessy


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb