Happy Birthday Oscar


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Hobe Sound
March 4th 2015
Published: March 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Happy birthday Oscar



Oscar turned 14 today and he is as spray as ever. He is enjoying his camping experiences and has finally found his manners. We have a peaceful and contented campsite.



Today I had a leisurely morning, visiting on the phone, walking Oscar and getting ready for the beach. It was a beach day!



Finally got to the beach about 12:30 and stayed til 3:30 enjoying the sea air, warm temps and stronger breeze. There weren't many birds, they had a hard time flying with the wind, but enough went by to keep me shooting.



There is now an influx of Porugese Man of War on the beaches. Not enough to keep people out of the water, but enough. I am including a picture of one that washed up on the beach. It looks like a blue balloon but this one had a 5 ft. tenacle. One little boy was playing near some rocks and he suddenly screamed like he was shot. He ran out of the water and did the dance, it hurts, it hurts.. Poor kid, was better in a little while.



I've included some pictures of ordinary seagulls that really struck me. Fun day.



Came back home and freed Oscar, fed him his dinner then settled in to catch up on e mail and peruse the pictures. I stayed out until the bugs got to me (yes paradise has some flaws) then went in to do the blog.



I have seen some different critters here that I forgot to mention before. I saw 2 wild pigs, both black, out of the palmettos then back in, too quick to take a picture.



I saw the eagle today and got a not very good picture, but it counts.



The other day on the beach I was watching a man fishing from the shore, watching his lines when suddenly a fish jumped. Not a little fish, one about 5 feet long and it spun like a top. I first thought it was a sword fish but asked the fisherman and he said it was a spinner shark. That's a new one on me, really neat. He was happy it wasn't hooked, it would break his line.



The moon is almost full and was just beautiful tonight. It seems like daylight outside, I might be compelled to howl!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Portugese Man Of WarPortugese Man Of War
Portugese Man Of War

Note the 5 ft tentacle
eagle nest with Mom watchingeagle nest with Mom watching
eagle nest with Mom watching

She is in the far right of the nest standing up


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 97; dbt: 0.1087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb